RSS

stuff

02 Nov

Karen over at Did You Make That is discussing wardrobe space. I well understand her dilemma. I have at different times had adequate wardrobe space. I’m presently allowed two-fifths of our large, built-in robe. I also have to store my clothes and my shoes and the spare pillows and all my handbags and the sleeping bags and – well, I did have the sleeping bags. Now I have only mine and I’ve told Dr B that, as he has three-fifths of the wardrobe and no longer a need to use it for business suits, he can look after his own sleeping bag.

We are all a bit attached to our stuff, though. I try to destash. But I have to have some clothes and most of mine are old and worn, whether they’re work clothes or non-work clothes. That means that to keep warm these days I need six layers where one might once have done the job. I do have some dresses that I rarely wear (annually for Christmas dinners, that sort of thing) and others I don’t wear and perhaps never will again. But I can’t find it in me to throw out my wedding dress (throw out only in the sense of “put in the charity bin”) or the handsewn dresses that help to inspire me.

Is it silly to be sentimental about clothing? We generally take the view that if we’ve had our money’s worth out of it but it no longer fits and is still in reasonable order, then it should go into the charity bin (some of Boy’s clothes, for instance, as he grows out of them). That way a charity earns money from the sale and someone else has the pleasure of wearing whatever it might be. We’re not big on selling things. In the case of my clothes, you couldn’t because they’re so worn; but even were they not, would I want to sell them? Not really. I can still use them.

There’s another dilemma: do you hang onto clothing because you can still wear it? Should you? What do you think?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 2, 2011 in Musing

 

Leave a Reply

 
