RSS

ever knitted the same item multiple times? have I ever!

24 Feb

Vogue Knitting asked:

Do you have a favorite pattern you have knit more than once? I think many of us do. Have you knit one pattern more than 5 times??? Mine is this one skein NORO hat. What is yours?

Of course I have. I wasn’t surprised that their one pattern is a hat. My go-to items tend to be balaclavas and beanies and it’s easy to see why they are. In cold climes, people need warm head covering. A basic beanie pattern is open to a lot of imaginative reinterpretation.

I have a broken-rib pattern that knits up quickly and can be made to look very different depending on how you choose to do it: do you have a turn-up or not? If no, how do you treat the ribbed edge? Do you vary it simply by being smart with changing colours? Or knit it at a firmer tension than the patterns asks for? At last rough count, I’d made about 10 of those. The pattern came from what I believe to be a now defunct women’s magazine way, way back in the early 1970s.

Another of my hat recipes is a chunky, garter-stitch one that’s even quicker to make. I think I made four of those last winter, one or two the winter before and at least one for myself many years ago. I call that a useful pattern too. Like the broken rib pattern, it’s from the early 1970s, in this case for a Villawool Inca jacket and cap.

Then there are the half a dozen or so balaclavas I’ve knitted for various friends and family members, often at their request because they’re out in the cold and need the wind-blocking properties that a good balaclava provides. Boy was happy to receive one for use under his motorbike helmet. That doesn’t qualify as a quick knit, not for me anyway, but it’s a good, basic pattern from an old Patons book; and it’s one that you can play with.

I’ve also made and given away five or six pairs of fingerless mitts, using a free pattern from Twinset Ellen on Ravelry. They’re quick, they’re warm, they’re easy, they’re small and portable during construction (which means I can knit them on the bus) and they’re funky enough that Boy and Dr B both use theirs in public. Gasp.

Otherwise, feather-and-fan baby singlets (three that I can remember making from a Patons pattern), blackberry stitch booties (three pairs I can remember, and I think it’s sometimes called bramble stitch; again, a Patons pattern) and plain jumpers would head my list of things of which I’ve made multiples and would make again. What about you?

Edited 12/4/12: You can also find the pattern for the fingerless mitts at Twin Set. Just scroll down to Handed Yes, Fingered No, Mitts that Fit for a PDF download.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 24, 2012 in Knitting

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
