RSS

a little bit cross-eyed

27 Mar

That’s how I must have been looking at the beanie pattern. You know, the one for Eldest Nephew, the blue one. Part of the problem I know to be the fact that I’m using two books and the decision as to which book I would follow and which pattern therein I would follow wasn’t made at the outset. Therefore I’ve probably been looking at quite the wrong pattern in every respect. Never mind. The only drama, really, is that I’ve done half the beanie on the wrong sized needles. I think it will still be useful even if a little firmer than originally anticipated.

Eldest Nephew has a big head. No, he’s not a bighead (at least, not more than most blokes!), but he has always had a big head so I had set out to make something big enough to be warm without being tight. I might have failed in that respect. I’ll let you know! In any case, I’m now well over halfway with the beanie and it’s looking suitably dull and understated, just what I’m told Eldest Nephew wanted.

You know, it had to be something unremarkable that would keep his ears warm when the temperatures drop, but that wouldn’t be likely to get hooked up in things (for which reason cables were contraindicated; that was the alternative pattern choice I’d been debating) and wouldn’t be likely to draw any attention to himself or comment regarding his attire. He’s a quiet man, Eldest Nephew.

I don’t mind obliging such requirements but, gosh, it’s hard to see dark blue yarn at night. I’m continuing with the pattern, more or less, just making a couple of modifications on the fly to ensure that the end result looks like a beanie that Eldest Nephew would actually wear and one that will fit.

Have you ever followed the wrong instructions for your knitting and kept knitting anyway? Am I terminally lazy or remarkably flexible?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 27, 2012 in Knitting

 

Leave a Reply

 
