RSS

yarning about yarn

20 Apr

I’m doing well with the beanie I’m making for Middle Aunt but it occurs to me that I’d be in strife if I were trying to crochet it. I’d have run out of yarn a long time ago.

In the absence of the Villawool Inca, I’m this time using Lincraft Australia‘s Phoebe yarn. It’s another product of China, being a 55% acrylic and 45% wool mix. In a 50 g ball there’s said to be an average of 33 metres of yarn. That might be so, but there are lots of knots in it. I’ve so far managed to catch them before knitting any into the beanie but the drama will arise if I now don’t have enough yarn to finish. I only bought three balls. Luckily, I have ways of dealing with a shortage of yarn. I can choose to do the decreasing slightly differently, omitting two rows. I can make a small turn-up or perhaps not have one at all.

You can tell I’ve done all this before, can’t you? Those capers, however, would have occurred when I was working with a yarn I hadn’t bought expressly for the purpose of making an Inca beanie and which might, not unreasonably, have needed stretching or cajoling at least a little to go the distance. This shouldn’t require such shenanigans. I think that if it had fewer flaws, I’d be fine with the three balls I purchased. Perhaps it’s a yarn I won’t buy again, though the article under construction is looking good.

Oh, and what about the blue beanie? Done. Looks good. Photos at some point in the not too distant future when the digital pix are entirely online again. I’ve had the opportunity of sharing a few pix in recent posts but I was celebrating too soon.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 20, 2012 in Knitting

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
