RSS

going quiet

05 May

I’ve reached the point in Youngest Uncle’s fingerless gloves at which I need to concentrate, so I’m now unable to capitalise on the opportunities where I could knit and watch TV (which I don’t do very well at the best of times) or knit and read (an even worse combination; I’m either knitting or I’m reading). If I’m gone for a few days, you’ll understand that I’m just being a diligent crafter working hard to complete a project, not a lazy blogger about to be spoken to very sternly by the blogging police. Sometimes, going quiet is a better option than going quietly.

Before I go, however, I should comment on the Cleckheaton Country Tartan 8-ply yarn that I’m using. It’s wool but it’s machine washable and spin dryable. I know there are plenty of people who frown at that, believing that treated wool is somehow less worthy than untreated wool. As far as I’m concerned, ease of laundering is a powerful consideration. And the yarn is really very nice: it’s soft and the colour is interesting but serious enough for Youngest Uncle (he’s a scientist, after all). It should be just the ticket. All right, then, off I go to be a serious knitter.

If you’re crafting this weekend, I hope you’re making good progress too. See you on the other side of the concentrating, whether that’s between thumb and fingers or beyond them all I’ll have to wait and see.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 5, 2012 in Knitting

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “going quiet

  1. mybeautfulthings

    July 17, 2012 at 07:41

    I love that about knitting and reading! I so want to do both at once! 🙂

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      July 17, 2012 at 18:32

      I want to, too, but as I haven’t the knack of it now, there’s no way I’ll ever acquire it! Good luck.

       
      • mybeautfulthings

        July 19, 2012 at 07:10

        I won’t either but I’ll keep trying! 🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
