RSS

hurriedly

18 Jun

Somehow I overlooked a colleague’s birthday. This called for swift creation of something. These days, we’re all keen to have sturdy, reusable shopping bags so I decided to make one for her using some of the leftover linen curtain fabric that I used to make Dr B’s Paris-Brest-Paris musette.

The shopping bag is a mix of styles as well as being my usual mix of careful French seams (you don’t want your cans of dog food falling out) and slapdashery extraordinaire with regard to hems! The handles are well secured too (see previous comment about cans of dog food).

Accompanied by a lavender bag, of course

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 18, 2012 in Cycling, Sewing

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “hurriedly

  1. sewbusylizzy

    June 20, 2012 at 22:03

    I’ve always wanted to create a shopping bag ‘practical’ side line. I love this idea!

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      June 20, 2012 at 23:26

      They’re very easy but really useful. Last year, I used home-sewn shopping bags to wrap birthday presents: I packed them up with some knitted and sewn things (beanies and scarves in the first category, potholders in the second, I seem to recall), threw in a lavender bag and tied a ribbon round the handles. No waste at all!

       
      • sewbusylizzy

        June 21, 2012 at 18:57

        That’s a fabulous idea – think I might use that at Christmas time. I coudl even do library bags for the kids!

         

Leave a Reply

 
