RSS

winter lavender

14 Jul

Do you regard weekends as rest days or achievement days? Here it’s been a cold day and there was rain overnight. However, the weather fined up and I was able to hang a load of washing on my new clothesline. Of course it didn’t dry so I had to bring it in and hang it again inside BUT it finished drying reasonably quickly. While the sun was shining, I picked some lavender from the bush in my backyard. It has gone nuts just lately and every time I walk over it to drag the clothesline from the wall to the pole, I stir up the perfume. Now there is a very large bunch of it drying in my sewing room. By Christmas, it will doubtless be going into some lavender bags to accompany fabric gifts.

Harvested from my garden

In between those sorts of capers, I have knitted some more of a scarf, decided I was too tired to tackle the beanie and tinkered a bit with those fingerless gloves. Unpicking seems like the best solution to that problem and then just knitting a flat pattern, except that lately my sewing up hasn’t been very good. At least the scarf I’m halfway through won’t take much extra work; there’s no sewing up and only a few ends. So it’s been a day where I feel as if I’ve achieved very little, but sometimes you need days like that, especially on the weekend. Me? Sometimes, and today has been one of those times, I regard weekends as rest days.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 14, 2012 in Knitting

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “winter lavender

  1. agujasblog

    July 15, 2012 at 01:58

    I can almost smell the lavender.

     
  2. mybeautfulthings

    July 19, 2012 at 00:35

    First time I’ve seen mention of ‘musician’…….. 🙂

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      July 19, 2012 at 18:34

      It’s not, alas, at the head of my activities these days though I’d be very happy to be able to get back more choral work

       

Leave a Reply

 
