RSS

corrupting shades of grey

15 Jul

The internet has corrupted me. I would never have paid so much money for yarn until I saw some end results on all those fabulous websites. In the days when my disposable income was more mine and less everyone else’s I did buy good yarn, but it was almost exclusively wool with occasional blends that contained predominantly wool. Now, I’ve been sucked in by some fabulous mixes and, oh rapture (or should that be oh horror?), I’ve succumbed to Noro’s Silk Garden (Ravelry link). Sure, it’s to make a special scarf for a special birthday but nearly $60 for just FOUR skeins of yarn that contain only 10% wool? Wow.

Rich colours and soft fabric, a seductive combination

The Moebius cowl I crocheted for a friend earlier this year cost $20. That used two skeins of what I seem to recall was a wool/alpaca mix (it wasn’t pure wool but I’m afraid the details escape me now). I thought that was expensive, and by my standards it was, though I didn’t for a minute grudge either the cost or the time it took to make, but I did reflect that it was one of the dearer small garments I’d made. (I would naturally expect to pay more than that if I were knitting a jumper.) It was probably also a softer finish than many of the garments I make for us. I use wool for the majority of my knitting with occasional ventures into acrylic/retrieved fibre mixes depending on end-use intention (Boy’s tencel beanie springs to mind). Perhaps being raised on a farm has made me a dedicated wool user but I find it’s usually the best option. The softness of Silk Garden, even in the making, is converting me to the notion that there are other sources of softness.

I’m using it to knit a scarf for Eldest Son. It’s scary to contemplate that he’ll soon be 40. He was complaining recently, as he stood about three inches away from the fire and politely said, “No!” each time Dr B suggested doing PBP on a tandem, that he was cold. Poor old thing. If he’s cold, a scarf is the answer. Right? Well, maybe. In any case, I’ve bought that fabulous yarn and I’m doing a simple 1 x 1 rib in a two-row stripe, letting the colour do all the work for me (not a new idea and one I’ve used previously on a beanie for Dr B). I’m not entirely convinced about the green bits, in the sense that perhaps Eldest Son isn’t as enamoured of green as I am, but in the overall mix it’s probably going to be all right. Boy thinks what I’ve knitted so far looks nice although he can’t be depended upon for good colour recognition when there are stripes.

For that matter, neither can I sometimes! For starters yes, I am mildly acritochromic. Add to that, I often knit at night in soft light. So, not surprisingly, I recently reached a spot where I wasn’t sure what colour I was seeing. I knew it had been a dark olive green and was fairly sure it still was. Everything was looking fairly grey to me, though, so I wouldn’t have put money on the green. I didn’t know whether the problem was my dodgy colour vision or the dodgy light. The following morning, when I was knitting on the bus with strong daylight to aid me, I discovered that what had seemed grey was, in fact, grey. Ah. There’s another of the joys of Silk Garden: some unexpected colours.

So it’s not just that the web has corrupted me, my colour vision has also corrupted my ability to tell what I’m doing! I’m definitely buying more Silk Garden though, corrupt or not, and hang the expense. It’s beautiful to work with and for special birthdays? Yes, definitely an affordable luxury.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 15, 2012 in Crochet, Knitting

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “corrupting shades of grey

  1. agujasblog

    July 15, 2012 at 12:57

    I love Noro yarn for the colors but they are not always the softest. So much beautiful yarn out there. Sigh.

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      July 15, 2012 at 14:34

      I agree they can be rather bright and that’s part of my concern about the scarf. However, I reason that, because a scarf is worn underneath other garments such as jackets and coats, it’s probably true that you can hide the bits you like less and showcase the bits you love. That’s my theory, anyway!

       
  2. Sarah

    July 16, 2012 at 08:31

    The Internet is fickle! I always looks at sewbrunswicks blog and start looking at the fabrics she has used from tessuti. Then remember $50 a meter makes for expensive mistakes! At least with yarn you can backtrack a bit.

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      July 16, 2012 at 18:27

      Quite so, although it turns out that I have to think of a different solution to the scarf problem. Hm.

       
  3. sewbusylizzy

    July 16, 2012 at 22:21

    My mum always buys expensive wool. She says if she is going to spend the time making it, it’s worth it. Mums know best 🙂

     
  4. Felicity from Down Under

    July 17, 2012 at 19:39

    Your mum is right but I still think acrylic has its place in chilly climes where you need to get things dry (the only jumper I made my Boy when he was little was from acrylic for that very reason).

     

Leave a Reply

 
