RSS

sometimes reading a book is better than knitting

20 Jul

I know that sounds a little like heresy but there’s a reason I say it. I was knitting Eldest Son’s scarf on the bus yesterday morning and I could see that something about it just wasn’t quite right. For the life of me, I couldn’t put my finger on what. The yarn wasn’t split or twisted but there was something that jarred on one edge. It wasn’t a bright morning and I was a bit cramped so couldn’t get a good look at what I was doing. Therefore, between that and being very tired, I only knitted a couple of rows then simply rested my eyes for the rest of the journey.

On the way home, the bus was too crowded for knitting. I was in an aisle seat and thought that, even with my wonderful short needles, I’d be risking a few dropped stitches if I knitted. Besides, I had a new book to read, so that’s what I did: enjoyed the first few chapters of Garth Nix and Sean Williams’  Troubletwisters: the Monster.

The problem was just a couple of reversed stitches

Once home, I spread my knitting out on the sewing table, stoked up my work lamp and easily spotted the source of my unease: I’d made  a mistake, somehow purling where I should have been knitting in a couple of spots. It was a good thing I hadn’t knitted lots of extra rows. As it was, I was able to drop my couple of stitches back a few rows and fix the problem quickly. I might not have been quite so cheerful if I’d carried on knitting regardless of my concern and then had to drop back a lot of rows. Reading is such a good thing!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 20, 2012 in Knitting, Reading

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “sometimes reading a book is better than knitting

  1. sean williams

    July 21, 2012 at 16:39

    Thanks for the kind words! I’m glad the novel helped.

     
  2. sewbusylizzy

    August 2, 2012 at 22:25

    My knitting requires every single inch of my attention. I can knit well but VERY VERY slowly. Hence I sew!

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      August 2, 2012 at 22:30

      I can goof off a little when I’m knitting 1×1 rib (as I was for the scarf) but anything else, even stocking stitch seems to turn into a disaster if I don’t give it my complete attention. You sewing is very lovely and I’m sure it takes all your attention too.

       
      • sewbusylizzy

        August 2, 2012 at 22:55

        Thank you 🙂 I do call my sewing my zen time, it’s the only time the ‘little voice’ in my head shuts up. Knitting provide the same ‘zen’ for me,

         

Leave a Reply

 
