RSS

misleadingly spotted

28 Aug

I have to say the weather forecast was misleading. 21 degrees? Nowhere near me!

Spotted just lurking on the bedside table

Spotted this morning atop Dr B’s bedside table pile of books were these keep-you-warm items. He hasn’t had to rug up quite this much in yonks. You will tell me, I know, that they’re not spotted at all but stripey and you’re right; but it was good to see clear evidence that Dr B actually uses something I made for him. That would be the balaclava, which is the colourful number. It dates back a very long time indeed (and was made using my favourite Patons balaclava pattern and any bit of wool I could second to the purpose, hence the fairly wild colour scheme. The job brief was to knit something warm and what it looked like didn’t matter).

I made the fingerless mitts for YoungB (an early experiment with Twinset Ellen’s wonderful pattern) but owing to my less than ideal yarn choice, they stretched significantly. That’s never really a problem because Dr B has very large hands and he’s always happy to have extra bits of covering to keep them warm. The mitts turned out to be a perfect size for him. What happened then was that YoungB appropriated the pair I’d made for myself. Eventually, I made another pair for myself. Then Nonno ended up with those. I still don’t have any!

And as that warmer weather doesn’t seem to be forthcoming, I might need to do something about that sartorial lacuna. What do you reckon, if I start knitting some fingerless mitts for me will the weather take a turn for the warmer?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 28, 2012 in Knitting

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “misleadingly spotted

  1. punkmik

    August 29, 2012 at 18:05

    as soon as I started to cut out my cape (meant for autumn) we had a bit of sunshine! SO maybe knit a full on cardigan or coat to trick the weather! 😛

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      August 29, 2012 at 19:05

      sounds like an excellent idea; and then it would probably be ready for next winter! LOL

       
  2. Clever Blonde - Donna g

    August 29, 2012 at 23:50

    I’m sure the warm weather won’t be far away. I heard on the news yesterday heavy snow had fallen on the snow fields. Seemed hard to believe when I had all the windows wide open and ceiling fans on. Such a contrast…a little bit cool here tonight 16!

     

Leave a Reply

 
