RSS

reversal

09 Sep

Ah, warmth and clever knitting all at once

Today seems like a good day for true confessions, so here’s mine.

A long time ago I knitted myself a thick, red jumper with lots of cables on it (the above photo is far too pink but the colour is not the main concern I’m addressing here). It was the same back and front, with a boat neckline, allowing me to do all sorts of interesting things with layering. I wore it constantly during the years I lived in climes with very cold – meaning below zero – winters (Italy and England, then the New England area of New South Wales). It acquired an unsightly stain on it at some point (olive oil splash) and I put on far too much weight to wear it and still look respectable but it’s not like me to throw out a handmade jumper, especially such a thick, warm one, so I hung onto it and continued to wear it at home while limiting its public exposure.

You can probably imagine how distressed I was the last time I pulled it out of the cupboard to discover that it had acquired a hole! It looks as if I’ve somehow managed to get it caught up in something because it’s not the sort of hole that moths make. I had none of the yarn left so my holey jumper sat in the cupboard a bit longer waiting for me to come up with some brilliant plan/way of fixing it with a yarn of very similar colour. That never happened. Perhaps I wasn’t desperate enough!

Today we were going to visit friends in the Hills. On a sunny day it’s lovely there, sitting outside and fending off mozzies while the blokes battle with the barbie. But the second the sun vanishes, the chill grips your every exposed square centimetre. What could I wear that would be warm? I’m not telling how many layers I’d already donned when I was standing at the wardrobe door looking for inspiration. My old, red jumper seemed to fit the bill except for that jolly hole. I grabbed some polyester thread – I know, I know; hang me some other time – that was a good match for colour and did a botched sort of mend.

The hole was at a crossing point for one of the cables – of course it was, becuase that’s the most likely spot to snag on something else; also, there’s simply no likelihood that a mend would ever be required in a spot of plain stocking stitch fabric, is there, if there are acres of tricky bits to choose? – and I really did not have time to be clever about that, so I closed the hole as neatly as I could without recreating the cable. Then I popped the jumper on back-to-front, threw a light scarf over it and a jacket over that and, hey presto, good as new.

It meant I couldn’t take off my jacket but, as I’d had no intention of doing that in any case, the colour and warmth were just what the situation required. Dr B wondered how I could turn it round without frontal stretch giving the game away? As far as I can see, there’s not much frontal stretch. But even if there were, the whole idea of putting the jacket on was that it would hide everything, including the mend, the stain and the fact that I was wearing my jumper back-to-front. Dare you to tell the difference, anyway!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 9, 2012 in Knitting

 

Tags:

4 responses to “reversal

  1. sewbusylizzy

    September 10, 2012 at 08:38

    I just love your knitting – all the more so because in so dreadful at it!

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      September 10, 2012 at 19:54

      that’s very kind of you, thanks, but it’s probably the first handcraft I learnt (followed very closely by embroidery). And believe me when I say that was a very long time ago.

       
  2. Calico Stretch

    September 13, 2012 at 10:05

    I tell you whatever works is good, regardless of the ‘coulda done it better’ or shoulda coulda oughta. Am just really glad you managed to find a way to wear an old fave ….. and hope the weather is starting to look warmer? At least spring has certainly sprung.

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      September 13, 2012 at 19:43

      yes, you’re right about the old favourite – and tonight, which is a touch chilly, I’m wearing it right way round and I bet nobody will even notice! Spring is certainly making her presence felt, I’m happy to agree with you, because I really do not cope well with cold weather (never have and it’s getting worse as I get older!).

       

Leave a Reply

 
