RSS

stranger and stranger

16 Sep

YoungB has returned from the rowing camp, bringing me a new sewing dilemma: please fix my shoe! There is precedent for such a request. I have a long history of repairing rucksacks and bike bags of varying sizes. A cloth shoe with a bit of elastic shouldn’t really be much different, right?

Newish shoe, not much use any more

It was not the sort of thing I could do on my sewing machine so out came the trusty “Let’s do some real work” needles and the sturdy polyester thread. I had to use a pair of pliers to pull the needle through the last bit, but I managed to fix the gaping.

This should last for a bit longer

 

It’s not precisely neat and who knows how sturdy it is really – I mean, it might come adrift again the first time YoungB puts any real strain on it – but for now, that was a useful afternoon’s effort.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 16, 2012 in Rowing, Sewing

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “stranger and stranger

  1. sewbusylizzy

    September 16, 2012 at 20:36

    You are a dedicated mother!

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      September 16, 2012 at 21:39

      Not really, more peeved at how quickly the shoes started to fall to pieces. They’re less than a week old!!

       
  2. Clever Blonde - Donna G

    September 17, 2012 at 20:39

    Lol, my Boy has a pair of shoes just like them, another thing in common. You are certainly better than me, I would have binned them, maybe I’ll think twice next time. I’m sure they will last ages, home sewing is always stronger than ready made. Bet YoungB is happy

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      September 17, 2012 at 21:27

      I don’t know if they’re as sturdy as they could be Donna, and as I said to Lizzy I was more just peeved at how quickly they’d started to come adrift. Still, it wasn’t hard work and it did make YoungB a happy young man. (And the shoe is still holding together; I just checked.) 😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
