RSS

too tired

28 Sep

There is sometimes a cruel twist in being both recorder and typist. Sitting through a hearing once is usually enough. Having to sit through it again several times (there’s no such thing as being able to type straight through with the majority of work we do, so you’re constantly going over and over bits to make sure you’ve heard it properly) is just malicious, I tell you, malicious. That’s been my very recent experience and I decided to finish work 10 minutes early because I couldn’t do another minute of the stuff without wanting to scream!

On a nicer note but almost as frustrating, I was trying to find a circular knitting needle that was somewhere between 40 cm and 60 cm. The shorter is the recommended size for the White Caps Cowl, but I’m finding it altogether too frustrating to work on. The longer is more than the recommended length but I suspect I may end up using it to get my work established, whether or not it’s the right size. It’s just not possible to cast on and straighten out stitches on the 40 cm circular, I’m distressed to say; not for me, anyway. So I’ve had to resort to my mother’s trick of doing the first few rows back and forward to get some stability going. Then I’ll try to join it and work in the round.

If you’re a knitter, you might want to tell me why I’m wrong to do it that way and I’ll listen politely but your arguments won’t sway me from my path. If it was good enough for my mother – a knitter in the days when everyone knitted their own socks and whose cunning tip might therefore be seen as born of long experience – then I see no reason at all why I shouldn’t make life a little easier for myself by following her example.

And it’s a long weekend here. I plan to sew and knit as much as I can. I have Apronalong fabric to sort out and patterns to tidy before I get cracking on that project. Still, the forecast is for a very wintry lot of weather indeed, so staying indoors sounds like a perfect plan. If you’re having a long weekend too, and even if you’re only having an ordinary one, I hope you’re able to get lots of sewing and knitting done.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 28, 2012 in Knitting, Sewing

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “too tired

  1. SachitaBean

    September 29, 2012 at 01:47

    Oh! Have you tried using two circulars? You need two circulars of the same needle size (length doesn’t matter) It’s a little tricky at first, but then it makes like SO much easier on the little things – swapping the first two stitches really does help. http://www.weebleknits.net/twocirculars.html shows the stitch swap, and http://www.knitpicks.com/tutorials/Knitting_in_the_Round_with_2_Circular_Needles__D117.html has slightly clearer pictures. Can’t wait to see how the cowl comes out!

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      September 29, 2012 at 10:39

      thanks, I’ll check out those links. I’ve transferred to the larger recommended size and things are going well now. Part of my problem was also that I hadn’t had much clear, uninterrupted knitting time where I could just sit down and address the difficulty (can’t be done on the bus, can’t be done at home when there are Other People about, LOL)

       
  2. Calico Stretch

    September 29, 2012 at 11:31

    I find the shorter circular needles too hard on my wrists and I just get to swearing and muttering and getting all frustrated. I much prefer the (still annoying) set of four shorter double ended needles …. Would that work for you?

    The idea about of two circular needles sounds really interesting too – I will try that next time I get back into knitting.

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      September 29, 2012 at 11:37

      Thanks for that suggestion. I don’t have a problem with what the northerners call DPNs but they’re more awkward on the bus that’s for sure (and I’m always looking for something to keep me occupied on the bus). Anyway, problem now sorted and progress being made; though I’ll have to tweak the pattern somewhat to get a similar result, since my yarns are significantly different. I said it was inspiration, after all! 😉 But what I end up with will still look quite good, I think

       

Leave a Reply

 
