RSS

white fluff on a blue jacket

04 Oct

Today I managed to do a row and a bit of my White Caps Cowl while I was on the bus. Darn it all, the yarn made such a mess of my blue jacket that I’m revising my plans with regard to knitting on the way to work. I don’t mind so much messing up clothes when I’m on the way home but I’m supposed to look presentable for work. Hm, I might have to find another little knitting project to keep me busy.

And in the way that other people sometimes throw my plans into disarray, Dr B asked for a bandanna. He wasn’t necessarily asking me to make one, but he was hoping he might be able to find one with funky fabric for cycling purposes. In the end, I offered to make it. I spent my lunch break checking out fabric at the local Spotlight store. The restrictions related to not having flowery fabrics (or music that wasn’t Dr B’s own – no, there’s no fabric with his music on it, I promise you! – which ruled out quite a lot of options that I would have thought might be passable otherwise) or anything green (which he doesn’t much like, probably because I do) or too thick or with too high a polyester content. Ideally I wanted to find a pure cotton fabric. Quilting fabrics offer a good range but they’re generally heavier than might be desirable for a bandanna that has to go under a cycling helmet. I found some that I thought might be all right, anyway.

YoungB pointed out that cyclists wear some fairly wild bandannas (we know this to be true) but even he vetoed some of the options. His words were to the effect that, if Dr B were to wear that fabric as a bandanna he (YoungB) would have to laugh at him (Dr B) to save everyone or anyone else having to do so. Oh, how did I manage to get the boys to “audit” the fabric? (Neither has the patience for fabric shopping, I tell you from long experience, unless it’s for themselves and even then their attention span is, well, short.) Why, phone camera, of course. I might be technologically inept – I am; just ask YoungB about how I alway mess up trying to set up the TV unless he’s there to tell me how – but I have my moments.

Sure, there are plenty of bandannas available but Dr B wears his out with amazing rapidity so the idea of my making a couple for him is far from silly and, once I’ve tracked down a fabric he’s prepared to wear, shouldn’t actually take very long. A square of fabric with a rolled hem – he’s not after the fancy shaped sort you can buy. He has a couple of those and while they’re good, they don’t provide quite as much protection for his head as the cotton numbers that he already owns – should be a reasonably quick sewing projection, don’t you think? And then I can get back to my aprons and my knitting!

Sorry, either my computer is playing up or our Internet connection is but I’ve had a few crashes in the writing of this post so plan to send it as is without photos or links. Soz, as the kids these days would say. 🙂

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 4, 2012 in Cycling, Knitting, Sewing

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “white fluff on a blue jacket

  1. Calico Stretch

    November 17, 2012 at 11:40

    Bandanas – my brother lives in Amsterdam and cycles everywhere plus goes for longer rides at the weekends from time to time taking tents and such. Bandanas would be a great Christmas pressie for him and his partner and home made ones with NZ (home) pictures/patterns on the fabric would work too I think …..

    LOL to YoungB’s comments on the fabric you were considering! I wonder if my kids will do that one day. Probably.

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      November 17, 2012 at 14:45

      what a fantastic idea! Get that silver feather out there (that’s what it is, isn’t it?) and remind him of home.

       
      • Calico Stretch

        November 17, 2012 at 16:16

        Its a fern frond from a big kinda fern tree. Rather amazing looking and kinda prehistoric somehow. Looks like a feather, you’re right, I hadn’t thought of that :O

         

Leave a Reply

 
