RSS

knitters are everywhere

14 Nov

Rowing parents are a varied bunch. At a recent regatta, two of the mums had their knitting out. Yes, I was one of them. The remarkable part about it was not that we were knitting but the comments we garnered from other mums (no dads commented, I’m not being sexist or elitist), many along the lines of how lucky we were to be able to knit. Knitting is like many skills, easily learnt. Yes, expertise takes time and practice, but there have always been lots of books and nowadays there are online resources to help with that.

The funny stories from other would-be knitters? One – whose jumper made for herself would, she assured us,  have fitted your average horse – had us in stitches (I know, couldn’t resist) imitating her serious husband wondering at which point she hadn’t realised that the sleeves were, ahem, MUCH too long? I had to say she obviously hadn’t knitted a tension square – she admitted that was true! – but who hasn’t had similar experiences sometimes even IF there’s been a tension square? Real garments don’t always behave like tension squares.

I pounced on the other knitting mum to ask if she was participating in the Victoria Square yarn bombing? She knew what yarn bombing was if not that there was a sanctioned plan afoot to bedeck Vic Square for Christmas, but generally she didn’t appear interested. Oh. It can’t just be me, can it? Dr B finds it a nice idea if somewhat nutty. YoungB has me sussed. He knew the moment he read about it in the local paper that I’d be there with my knitting needles (and crochet hook, I feel bound to add).

 
7 Comments

Posted by on November 14, 2012 in Knitting, Rowing

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “knitters are everywhere

  1. sewbusylizzy

    November 14, 2012 at 22:34

    LIkewise I am always amused by people that can’t believe I can sew and make something – really? It’s not rocket science people! Loved the horse jumper – although it would probably fit my hugely tall husband!

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      November 15, 2012 at 18:57

      I suppose we’re a dwindling minority, though I don’t really understand why. Yes, what a good idea about our husband being about the right size for that jumper!

       
  2. paulineos

    November 16, 2012 at 07:56

    I think that more people are beginning to try making things for themselves, thanks to Youtube and the like, but also as a reaction to crass consumerism or the recession- craft shows are jam-packed around here, anyway!

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      November 16, 2012 at 19:43

      I think you’re right about the reactions to both consumerism and recession being powerful drivers for the resurgence of craft. I must say that, being a country girl as I was, my experience was that everyone knitted. Pretty much all of those people still do and their kids might dabble at it or take up crochet. I should think there’s a doctoral dissertation in that lot somewhere! 🙂

       
      • paulineos

        November 16, 2012 at 21:51

        I agree, but I’m too busy knitting to follow up and do the research! At the moment, anyway…

         
  3. Tropical Threads

    November 16, 2012 at 21:56

    Hey hello! You’re in Adelaide? I’ll be there on holiday in a week’s time. How kewl! And if it’s cool enough I’ll be wearing the lovely blue knitted cardi my mum made for me about 8 yrs ago. Still going strong because it hardly ever gets an outing. Only on holidays 🙂
    I can knit, of course. My Granny taught me 🙂 but I love crochet more, especially the fine thread stuff like one day I’m gonna get the courage to do Irish Crochet full on, not just dabbling round the edges.

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      November 16, 2012 at 22:04

      I imagine that if you are accustomed to Darwin-style weather, our evenings might suit your cardi. Sounds very nice. Good luck with the crochet (it’s my last-acquired skill in the craft line and perhaps for that reason the one I do least well; fun, though, and very quick).

       

Leave a Reply

 
