RSS

layering

20 Nov

I read somewhere in blogland recently – and I’m sorry, I really can’t remember where – a question about what the concept of layering really involves when it comes to clothing. In my understanding, it’s pretty much mix and match separates, whose colours complement or contrast but play nicely together either way, with some consideration for lightweight fabrics per layer that, when combined, provide warmth without too much weight and/or bulk. I imagine it might be possible to fit a dress in there, but it could be trickier to get the layering going as well because you’ve automatically limited your options (unless you’re very clever and have a dress whose top and bottom are different colours, and that’s perfectly feasible; but in my opinion, it would still be a more limiting option than separates).

This may seem tangential, but we have been doing a bit of tossing of old stuff recently. We had consigned a pair of striped, cotton trousers and a full, cotton skirt to the ragbag for donations to the RSPCA shelter. I harvested the buttons, of course, and there weren’t any zips. There are only so many old items of clothing you can throw into the “What can I do with this?” basket and hope to be able to reuse. While I wasn’t knitting on the way home tonight (my homage to the White Caps Cowl is nearing completion but I was too tired to fossick around in my bag to find the yarn), my mind was going a million miles an hour thinking about how I could combine the skirt and the trousers – or their fabrics, anyway, both of which are shades of blue – to make a new top for me. When I got home, I rushed out to the shed and rescued the garments (isn’t it a good thing we were waiting until we had a full box before we made the trip down to the other side of town?).

Thanks to Portia for the inspiration – and watch this space!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 20, 2012 in Knitting, Sewing

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “layering

  1. Karen @ Folk Haven

    November 21, 2012 at 03:28

    Looking forward to seeing what you come up with. 🙂

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      November 21, 2012 at 20:00

      I’m about to send them through the wash to get all the dust out, so that’s a step in the right direction

       

Leave a Reply

 
