RSS

no such thing as too many roses

03 Dec

I crocheted roses over the weekend, to throw onto a wreath intended to replace the old tinsel-wrapped wire coathanger that’s been our front-door decoration for many Christmases. I can’t remember when I first encountered this wonderful tutorial – but it was some time ago, possibly the first year Esther shared it on her blog – and was utterly enchanted by the notion of doing something similar. I’m sure you’ve realised by now that I tend to take ideas and run with them. The results aren’t always brilliant but I think my version of this has turned out quite nicely. I’d intended to make it larger than it is but the larger foam rings had sold out, so a little one had to do; and it does do quite a good job, don’t you think?

IRL the colours are warmer

IRL the colours are warmer

I did a fair bit of tweaking and about three complete remakes in terms of placement (I pinned everything in place before deciding on final placement). I asked Dr B to judge whether the colour balance was right – after all, he’s the only one in the family not afflicted by acritochromacy – and I checked it with YoungB as well because he has a better eye for balance than I have. They both liked it and when I eventually hung it on the door, Dr B was kind enough to say that it looked very nice. (He also agreed that it was a vast improvement on the coathanger.) And why didn’t I use any leaves? I can crochet well enough to manage their complexity, but they are more time consuming than roses. Time being in short supply, and green yarn being in even shorter supply, surprisingly enough, I decided that I’d use just roses. So that’s what I did, used a lot of roses, varying in colour and size (depending on what yarn I could find in my leftovers basket). I should have wrapped my foam ring with another layer of yarn, but it’s passable as it is because the yarn is thick.

So that’s one bit of Christmas crafting done and life seems to be throwing obstacles in the way of other achievement. What gets done gets done and what doesn’t means buying a box of special seeds or nice teabags, I think! How are you going with your Christmas crafting?

 
10 Comments

Posted by on December 3, 2012 in Crochet

 

Tags: , , , , ,

10 responses to “no such thing as too many roses

  1. sewbusylizzy

    December 3, 2012 at 22:17

    That is absolutely beautiful

     
  2. Clever Blonde - Donna G

    December 4, 2012 at 20:15

    Well done, it’s gorgeous. At least you got a pressie made for yourself.

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      December 4, 2012 at 22:45

      Thank you, it was good to think that I’d finally just said, “To heck with what everyone else wants, I’m going to crochet roses all weekend,” and actually done so! Of course, there’s now a pile of work that’s not so quietly calling for my attention. But, you know, it’s waited this long and I’m confident it will wait a bit longer.

       
  3. Esther

    January 7, 2013 at 10:47

    Oooh I love it, what a beautiful version!! The more the merrier I say, I love crochet wreaths!

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      January 7, 2013 at 11:36

      Thank you. I just took it down yesterday and can see that it could use one or two more to look better balanced, but I’m not going to make them! I will, however, be very careful to store it with suitable amounts of lavender/cloves sachets because some of those yarns are wool and I don’t want anything being got at by moths.

       

Leave a Reply

 
