RSS

off the rails already

01 Jan

Happy New Year, everyone. May your year turn out better than ours presently appears to be doing. My best laid plans – or vague ideas, call them what you will – have just been turned on end by news of a Younger Cousin’s illness being diagnosed as lung cancer. Yeah. Things can only improve, I know, but in the meantime I thought a quick knit might be the answer. This lovely pattern is free from Malcolm and Marcus and the notion that it’s quick as well as pretty is very appealing!

Three-Hour Cowl, courtesy Malcolm and Marcus

You’re right, it’s summer and the Bureau of Meteorology is forecasting a hot spell, but airconditioned hospitals have a habit of being places where a little extra warmth never goes astray. For the time being, this ousts other work. I hope you’re all enjoying your celebrations and that your New Year brings only joyous tidings.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on January 1, 2013 in Knitting

 

Tags: , , ,

10 responses to “off the rails already

  1. sewandbakeandlove

    January 1, 2013 at 20:19

    I’m so sorry to hear this news. This cowl is a lovely idea – and so thoughtful of you to think of the air-conditioning in the hospitals…I would never have thought of that! I hope tomorrow brings you some positive news so you can start to get back on track x

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      January 3, 2013 at 14:00

      Thank you. We’re still waiting to hear test outcomes, so at present she’s as well as she can be, I think. Family is rallying. And Life is just going on much as it ever does. We adjust. Cheers.

       
  2. sewbusylizzy

    January 1, 2013 at 21:41

    Oh I’m so sorry to hear that, thinking of you.

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      January 3, 2013 at 14:02

      Thank you. Some might say she’s in the best place in every respect: we’re about to experience a heatwave, so the cool hospital is maybe not such a bad place to be.

       
  3. paulineos

    January 2, 2013 at 02:21

    My sympathies and best wishes to you and your family.
    And thank you for sharing the pattern with us, my thoughts will be with you while knitting..

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      January 3, 2013 at 14:03

      Thank you. I’m not a quick knitter so it took me more like three days. Life, as I say, does go on and other chores interrupt, plus I had a couple of disagreements with the yarn and I worked 10 repeats of the pattern. Photos to come.

       
      • paulineos

        January 3, 2013 at 20:40

        Looking forward to them…

         
  4. Calico Stretch

    January 2, 2013 at 17:55

    Happy New Year to you too and I’m sorry to hear your cousin is so ill. Thinking of you.

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      January 3, 2013 at 14:04

      Thank you. Happy New Year back at you, of course, and I hope your weather is a little cooler than ours.

       

Leave a Reply

 
