RSS

hearts for Valentine’s Day

20 Jan

It’s another yarn bombing exercise. I had a pattern for a crocheted heart but my attempt at it was an absolute disaster. The pattern was fine, I’m sure. The problem lay with my abilities, or lack of them, as a crocheter. I should dedicate more time to improving my crochet skills, I know, but not when I’m on a couple of deadlines.

I thought I could perhaps adapt the pattern to knitted format. Firstly, I did a literal translation. The resulting heart looked enough like a heart that you’d get the idea – I made two, anyway – but I wasn’t in love with the shape. So, using that knitted translation as a base pattern, I made up one of my own with a slightly better length for the width and a rounder top. Dr B liked the result and picked my version as being more like a heart. Good enough for me.

Stuffed heart made to knitted version of crochet pattern. Not a good shape. Flat heart made to my adaptation from crochet pattern. Thumbs up.

Stuffed heart made to knitted version of crochet pattern. Not a good shape. Flat heart made to my adaptation from crochet pattern. Thumbs up.

Today I’ve made another to match “my” heart and two larger hearts (merely a matter of thicker yarn on larger needles). I’ve crocheted the original two together and the first pair made to my pattern, stuffed them with craft fibre and considered them a job well done.

Two sizes of hearts made to adjusted pattern

Two sizes of hearts made to adjusted pattern

I might get the third one done tonight, but there are other tasks that now have higher priority. The hearts will wait. They look all right, though.

With both shapes stuffed, it's easier to see that the adjusted pattern gives a better shape

With both shapes stuffed, it’s easier to see that the adjusted pattern gives a better shape

Because I didn’t want to mess up what I was doing, I actually wrote out the pattern properly and everything. I’d be happy to share if anyone would like it. Otherwise, I’ll just press on with making a few more. I rather heart easy projects, don’t you?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 20, 2013 in Crochet, Knitting

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “hearts for Valentine’s Day

  1. sewbusylizzy

    January 20, 2013 at 21:48

    Great job! Nothing quite like figuring it out!!

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      January 21, 2013 at 11:50

      At least I was able to figure out something, even if it wasn’t the crochet pattern! LOL

       

Leave a Reply

 
