RSS

sewing velcro

25 Jan

Does anyone have any good tips for machine-sewing velcro? I was faced with having to do so for a mercy mission I was undertaking for Dr B’s RST motorcycling jeans (re-creating a pocket for holding the hip armour; somehow, Dr B had lost one and I didn’t want to unpick the remaining one to nut out the order of construction) and, OMG, the unladylike language issuing forth from my sewing room. I’ve sewn velcro in the past, I know I have. But, on reflection, it’s always been stick-on stuff that I’ve then secured by judicious handsewing. I did everything I could think of: changed my presser foot and the needle; used different thread; swapped the “new” bobbin for one I knew to be an original, just in case the newer bobbin was somehow not quite right; and tinkered with tension and stitch length, all to no avail. What a mess.

Everything about this is bad, but it will do the job and I think that's probably enough!

Everything about this is bad, but it will do the job and I think that’s probably enough!

I finally called it quits because I could see there’d be no improving the situation (and because, despite my care, I’d somehow managed to sew the left “pocket” so that it was the same as the right one; there’s meant to be a slight difference). I’d also sewn on the wrong side of velcro to start with – you know, attached a smooth bit when I needed a hooky bit – and that was problematic, but I’d done it. Then I had to unpick it, which I did, muttering greatly all the while. But trying to do the velcro the second time around – yep, I did use the hooky side, so that was right at least! – finally did me in.

I’m sure there are plenty of good tips online but, well, my computer is down one end of the house and my sewing machine down the other, so, you know, I was sewing. Now I’m not! So DOES anyone have any foolproof tips? Thanks in advance from one very exasperated sewist.

In other, utterly unrelated news, we went to our local park to watch the TDU Bupa Challenge riders head out, helped along by a brisk tailwind. Usually Dr B and YoungB would be riding in it, and probably a couple of other family members; but this year it was always going to be tricky (YoungB, for example, is coaching today in quite the other direction). Still, as the park is walking distance from where we live, it would have been a great opportunity missed had we not made the effort. We went back to watch the professionals a few hours later. By then the tailwind had disappeared and the sunshine warmed us up nicely. Aren’t we lucky to have such world-class events right at our doorstep?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 25, 2013 in Cycling, Motorcycling, Sewing

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “sewing velcro

  1. seascapesaus

    January 28, 2013 at 19:42

    Nice contrast between the cycling and the velcro! No tips except for a strong thimble and a tough needle. Zipper foot, industrial needle? I used to do a bit of that but my memories have dimmed thank goodness!

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      January 28, 2013 at 20:43

      back to manual intervention, I think! It truly didn’t matter what I tried on the machine; but anyway, it’s holding so even if it looks a bit tacky, it’s working.

       
  2. Gabrielle

    January 31, 2013 at 11:30

    I’ve never done a very neat job with Velcro, but I know it needs a strong needle and that pinning it in place doesn’t work for me. Have you tried that hem glue that washes out afterwards to temporarily hold it in place?

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      January 31, 2013 at 12:26

      ooh, thanks for the tip about the glue. Yeah, I put in a new heavy duty needle (one for denim) and, as I said, tried changing feet; but glue is something I didn’t think of.

       

Leave a Reply

 
