RSS

effective even if inelegant

26 Jan

Today Dr B has gone out motorcycling with an old schoolmate. He’s wearing his RST jeans with their armour inserts. The replacement pocket I made works beautifully, he said. Great. And because he couldn’t find his own toob and YoungB isn’t using his, he’s also wearing that black toob I made for YoungB. Warms the cockles of your heart. They take it very much for granted that I can and/or will do these things for them but I don’t mind being an everyday, functional part of their lives. Yesterday, I did a spot of handsewing for Dr B, repairing a couple of splits on his motorcycling inner gloves. It’s not classy stuff and perhaps the sewing could have been neater – I mean, black thread on black fabric and small seams with a tricky curve combined with ageing fingers! –  but it does the job.

By way of a little footnote to yesterday’s post, that fabric I used for the replacement pocket is some of the leftovers from two of Dr B’s cycling bandannas and there have been several lavender bags made from it as well. Not a lot goes to waste in our house, unless it’s so old and worn it’s not worth recycling (even then, I’ve been known to chop it up to use as stuffing for door stoppers and cushions). Ideally, you would hope I might have made that pocket out of an old, white, cotton sheet. Any of those that we have are very old indeed (we’re talking in excess of 50 years).

I thought that, as long as it was sturdy cotton, then what it looked like when it was inside the jeans mattered not. Who was going to see it to comment? Dr B is delighted. He asked, in fact, if I could make some pockets for YoungB to attach to his Draggins, which don’t come so equipped. That means I’d have to put velcro on the jeans as well as the pockets. That would mean sewing four lots of velcro! I’ve passed on that for now; but if I find a good way of sewing velcro, I’ll bump it up the priority list. There’s no harm at all in providing motorcyclists with as much protection as possible.

Meanwhile, it’s Australia Day and I have the house to myself for a few hours. Aha! This might be just the opportunity for a spot of sewing for me! How do you plan to spend the day?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 26, 2013 in Cycling, Motorcycling, Sewing

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “effective even if inelegant

  1. seascapesaus

    January 28, 2013 at 19:44

    Not so inelegant, judging by the previous image of the fabric!

     

Leave a Reply

 
