RSS

jarring thoughts

31 Jan
Turns out it's not about the wearability for work but using this fabric

Turns out it’s not about the wearability or suitability for work but about finally using this lovely fabric (and I do need a decent, pretty blouse for work)

I’ve been thinking about my reSewlution “to make a new blouse for me that’s suitable to wear to work”. That doesn’t sound terribly difficult. In fact, I made four tops last year that might not have been intended for work but have been worn to work. So perhaps what I really meant was that I want to use that lovely piece of blue rayon with the flowers on it to make a top for work and do a really good job of it, because the others were all problematic in one way or another and none of them – none! – is as well finished as it should be.

I haven’t let that stop me from using them but I’m always aware that the hem on one isn’t entirely straight, the neckband on another is dodgy as all get out, the sleeves on a third are a very long way from perfect, and the other one just doesn’t fit as well as it should because I used a fabric with too little stretch. But I have no shame: I wear them anyway. From the outside, they don’t look too bad (and, let’s face it, not too many people are going to be inspecting the inside). One of them has a brilliant neckline, another looks (and is) light and summery, one is, as it turns out, understated and highly suitable for work and the one I made to wear to a wedding, while done in the biggest hurry of all, still looks quite presentable despite the several shortcomings – they’re more like longcomings, really! – in fit and finish. (Yes, I have worn it to work, separate from its accompanying skirt, on a couple of occasions where I was attending a function after work.)

I mean, just how dodgy is that neckline? Don't you wonder how I can bear to wear it in public!

I mean, just how dodgy is that neckline? Don’t you wonder how I can bear to wear it in public!

Having thus berated myself for being sloppy, I should point out that three of those tops are made from knit fabric, part of whose charm (if you didn’t know) is that, actually, you don’t NEED to finish off seams the way you would with a woven fabric. They won’t fray or unravel if you just leave them raw and sometimes you do leave them raw for effect. All the same, I’m sure a spot more overlocking wouldn’t have gone astray on any of them. That’s particularly true for the one that’s not a knit so much as a stretch satin and, really, it does fray.

My intention for that piece of blue-with-flowers fabric – recently, anyway; it’s been in my stash for a very long time – had been to use it to make another of the easy kimono-style T-shirts but there’s another top in my wardrobe which I actually prefer for a variety of reasons. It has reached a point of being beyond respectability (it’s nearly as old as YoungB and I wear it a lot). I might use it to trace a pattern then try really, really hard not to mess up when I make that top for work, the pretty one that I’ve been promising myself for years!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 31, 2013 in Sewing

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
