RSS

old ladies

09 Feb

I’ve turned into one of those. Not the nice sort but the “My old lady lets me go and ride my motorbike while she stays home and works” type. I’m rebelling by refusing to do housework in their absence. Rather, I’ve been knitting. Dr B and I made a trip to buy some craft supplies – for something HE needed – before they sailed out this morning but any plans I might have had for the day were so thoroughly derailed that, well, I’ve knitted another inch or so of my Easy Lace Cowl and fixed up a mistake I’d had to tink in the Summer Shimmer Scarf by way of having my fun while they have theirs. There has to be justice in life, some sort of balance in the Force and all that.

They were, in fact, talking about bikes – pedal and motor – the other night, discussing various motor capacities and other intricate features (I assume they’re intricate though I am, of course, wilfully ignorant on such points). Dr B asked what would I be talking about had I had a gaggle of my friends over? Premium knitting needles, I said. Then I proceeded to tell them all about Addi needles with click-on ends and interchangeable middles and bamboo and rosewood and all the various other interesting needles and crochet hooks I read about. I don’t actually use any of those and am reasonably satisfied with the results I obtain on those I’ve been using for years. Their eyes were spinning nicely.

This is my idea of the way things should be, but I reckon I’d have a higher body count! (Image remains copyright of the original artist.)

Tomorrow we’re visiting a friend whose industrial sewing machine will make light work of the chore I’d have done for Dr B today had my machine had the grunt. Four layers of belting? Not really, even with a walking foot and a new needle. The friend is a bloke. There’s SOME balance in the Force, after all.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “old ladies

  1. seascapesaus

    February 11, 2013 at 22:29

    Great image of those eyes spinning nicely! I enjoy your writing tfangers. You make the ordinary every day seem intriguing AND funny.

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      February 12, 2013 at 18:32

      thank you, Seascapes. I’ve been having a bit of a chaotic time of late, so haven’t been blog-reading quite as much as I should. But I certainly enjoy your paintings when I get to your part of the Web.

       

Leave a Reply

 
