RSS

impasse or impassive

16 Feb

WARNING! Low level violence referenced in this post.

It’s like this: when Dr B and I met, a very long time ago, he used to ride a motorbike. In those days, I was a nurse and I’d seen plenty of people sporting fractures and lacerations from coming off one of those things. I refused to get on it. I haven’t changed my mind. Dr B says if I loved him, I’d ride pillion. I say if he loved me, he’d stop asking.

This is also true: I do not like plums. That was the case long, long before Dr B came into my life and no amount of persuasion on his part has changed my opinion. When they’re in season, he keeps asking me if I’d like a plum. He says he does it because he loves me and would feel rude not offering. I say if he loved me, he’d stop asking.

Mostly I just ignore his barbs. But one day – oh, yes, one day – I am going to snap. I’ll turn around and give him a punch like the one that Walt Disney’s Hercules landed on Hades at a critical point in the narrative; and Dr B’s face will turn into a prune – which, as it happens, is about the only sort of plum I will eat.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 16, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “impasse or impassive

  1. pomegranateandchintz

    February 16, 2013 at 14:22

    Well, I now know not to cross you!!!! With you on the motor bike business, but seriously……wouldn’t you just love one of these juicy, succulent, sweet, delicious plums? Go on….just try it!! (I’ve just taken a BIG step backwards!)

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      February 16, 2013 at 16:01

      they look so good, I know! Same with mulberries. We used to have two huge trees and every year when we were picking them I’d talk myself into trying one because they looked so nice – and they didn’t improve at all! 🙂

       
  2. Giggles in the Sun

    February 16, 2013 at 18:18

    I only like very ripe sugar plums and to be honest, I can give all stone fruits a miss quite happily. Mr. Giggles and I have similar arguments though. Yesterday I had a glass of water in my hand during it and I was seriously contemplating just throwing the water over him 🙂

     
  3. seascapesaus

    February 18, 2013 at 21:50

    This love thing seems to muddy the waters a bit!

     
  4. Felicity from Down Under

    February 19, 2013 at 19:19

    Yes, it’s truly amazing what we will do in the name of love. I eat all sorts of things I don’t like because Dr B has lovingly prepared them (and sometimes because they’re good for me and/or I should set an example to Certain Others about the place) but, really, plums? There are limits.

     

Leave a Reply

 
