RSS

the end of a very long week

04 Mar

Life can change quickly and sometimes it does. Last Saturday we farewelled Nonno for the last time, laying him gently to rest in a grassy cemetery on a day as sunny and bright as you could wish for. Only his close family and a few friends threw rose petals onto his coffin. We exchanged stories over a long lunch where a few tears were shed and much laughter was shared as we related tales of his inventiveness and more bizarre exploits. Only those who knew him well could believe, and perhaps understand, the streak of madness in his sanguine approach to a spot of impromptu restorative dentistry: fibreglass.

But life rolls on and I have been knitting, despite temperatures in the 30s and a percentage of humidity that makes me want to leap off a cliff (I hate humidity, always have; but there aren’t any nearby cliffs and it would take far too much effort to get to any). Last night I was steadily working away at Youngest Uncle’s fingerless gloves (or fingered mitts, you might see them thus described in some quarters) and admiring the evenness of my output. I’m not praising my knitting so much as the yarn, Cleckheaton’s Country Tartan. It has never failed to give me a reliable result. I will have the gloves/mitts finished for Youngest Uncle’s birthday and that will be another little achievement. I promise there will be no fibreglass involved.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 4, 2013 in Knitting, Musing

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “the end of a very long week

  1. seascapesaus

    March 11, 2013 at 21:31

    Not sure I could knit in this weather tf! well done. I think that would class as an extreme sport in Adelaide right now. Here’s to you!

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      March 11, 2013 at 21:46

      I often knit on the bus, too, and I must say it’s a good way to keep warm there! Their aircon always seems to be set to Antarctic levels. But I have admitted defeat this weekend and barely managed more than about 10 rows of cuff.

       
      • seascapesaus

        March 11, 2013 at 21:54

        Good to have a small project on the bus or circular needles! A wonderful way to use the time.

         

Leave a Reply

 
