RSS

bus knitting

13 Mar

By bus knitting I do not mean that I am knitting a bus or anything for a bus, merely that I knit while travelling on a bus (or perhaps that should be in a bus). My current bus knitting is the easy lace cowl (Ravelry link). Yes, it’s making splendid progress for something that grows by only four rounds a day! True to name, it’s an easy pattern, easily remembered. There’s only one pattern round, by which I mean a round that is other than straightforward 5×2 ribbing. My commute is about two rounds’ worth, so I’m careful to work just enough of the next to indicate to me where I need to pick up: one repeat of the pattern past the round marker or one less than the round. So far, the system has worked well. Some days I am too tired to knit and other days the trip is too bumpy. Tonight’s homeward journey was definitely in the latter category.

I haven't quite decided whose neck will be kept warm by this little beauty

I haven’t quite decided whose neck will be kept warm by this little beauty, though it will probably be Middle Niece’s

The yarn is soft and fluffy and presently keeps my hands warm on days when the bus aircon is at a temperature where peripheral vascular shutdown is a likely outcome for passengers. It’s a colourway described as a blue mix and so it is, with a lot of soft grey in it too. I have another two untouched skeins – I’d bought it originally with something quite else in mind but, you know, this project came along and I thought it would knit up nicely – that I might use to make something else that will keep my hands warm on the bus now that winter is on its way. Laugh at me now: our overnight temperature dropped to 20 degrees and we were shivering; and for tomorrow the forecast minimum of 13 degrees has us shaking our heads and agreeing that we’ll need to rug up for our morning activities. Anybody else wanting some more hot weather for a while or is it just me?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 13, 2013 in Knitting

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “bus knitting

  1. Every Stitch

    March 16, 2013 at 05:01

    yes, me, I Love the warm dry weather (kiwi farmers would have me hung for treason for saying this) I’m praying for another month or more of awesome summer

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      March 16, 2013 at 08:17

      I understand the need for rain but I’m on your side. I have so much trouble just putting one foot in front of the other during the winter greyness – and, you know, cold? Not my cup of tea at all!

       
  2. seascapesaus

    March 19, 2013 at 21:19

    Your bus knitting looks lovely tingledfangers! This in-between weather is perfect for outdoor painting! I love it. Mind you, the mornings are not conducive to early rising this week are they?

     

Leave a Reply

 
