RSS

reinvention

20 Apr

The company where I work recently lost a major contract and jobs went, too. Mine was one of them, though I’ll be working for another month or so. I’m quite sanguine about it, recognising that those of us who are going are perhaps facing a better future. We might struggle to find jobs, but we won’t have to deal with the incoming chaos of a management system ill suited to the needs of the business. I will find it far more difficult to reinvent and redefine myself than when I last undertook such an exercise. I was 45 then and now I’m 57. My general office skills need brushing up and my computer skills are not what they were (I’ve been working in a very particular area with very particular systems for far too long), but I am still capable of learning quickly and my store of general knowledge should stand me in good stead. I’m presently optimistic though I reserve the right to change my opinion should I end up unemployed and in dire straits.

Bendigo Woollen Mills’ image of Murano in the colourway I’m presently using to make a hat

I’m having much fun clearing out my desk and chucking out years of EBA negotiation memos and drafts and I’ve cleared a huge spot on the bookshelf at home by throwing out related documentation (when you take your task seriously, you end up accumulating a lot of what later might or might not prove to be rubbish; but whichever of those is the case here, I don’t care any more, so out they go). Now, what shall I put there? New knitting books? New sewing books? Plastic boxes of yarn or fabric scraps? Oh, the possibilities are almost endless. In preparation for the weeks where I’ll be job hunting, I’m keeping myself sane now by knitting a lot. It’s a good thing to be doing these days. This morning’s real temperature was around six degrees. That’s quite cold enough for me. The hat I’m knitting with lovely, thick Bendigo Woollen Mills‘ Murano yarn, is keeping me sane, busy and productively occupied. Dr B loves the colours (this hat is not for him, though I could probably be persuaded to make one for him). I might have lost my job, but in the knitting stakes I reckon I’m onto a winner.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on April 20, 2013 in Knitting, Musing, Sewing

 

Tags: , , ,

11 responses to “reinvention

  1. Giggles in the Sun

    April 20, 2013 at 19:41

    I wish you all the best. I am keeping my fingers crossed for you. Good luck 🙂

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      April 21, 2013 at 16:01

      Thank you. It might be a good time to reassess in a bigger picture way just what I want to be doing for the remainder of my working years.

       
  2. Pillows A-La-Mode

    April 20, 2013 at 22:41

    I know you’re going to find something you love! Hugs and prayers as you go on to your next adventure!

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      April 21, 2013 at 16:03

      Thank you. As I say, I’m optimistic. Experience tells me that that’s half the battle, although I always remember that the days of 23 applications and 19 job interviews to get a part-time job haven’t really gone!

       
  3. sewbusylizzy

    April 21, 2013 at 05:42

    Fingers crossed for some new exciting opportunities just around the corner.

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      April 21, 2013 at 16:07

      Thank you. It’s perhaps not precisely the choice I’d be making in terms of new directions, but if it works out well, I’m sure I’ll be extremely happy indeed.

       
      • sewbusylizzy

        April 21, 2013 at 16:17

        This happened at our work recently & for some it turned up new opportunities they would not have discovered. Here’s to hoping there are plenty of silver linings!

         
  4. pomegranateandchintz

    April 21, 2013 at 06:33

    Wishing you every success in your job hunt……meanwhile keep that knitting going!!

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      April 21, 2013 at 16:08

      Thank you, I’m thoroughly enjoying the way the Murano is knitting up (and, incidentally, keeping my hands warm with today’s descent to cold, wet weather).

       
  5. Sarah

    April 21, 2013 at 20:52

    Good luck with the job hunt, maybe you’ll be able to create your own job, a blend of hight vis bike wear or knitting related.

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      April 21, 2013 at 20:58

      haha, thank you. I was in fact talking with my sister today about what craft-related options might be available. She thought lavender bags at the growers’ markets could be a viable option!

       

Leave a Reply

 
