RSS

still knitting

07 May

My workplace is presently a bit strange because everyone is restless (not only those who are going but also those who are staying). So I try not to focus too much on what’s happening there, despite knowing that I have a lot of work coming my way as a result of that situation.

As ever, in order to retain my sanity, I’m still knitting. Honest, I am. I’m still knitting the Easy Lace Cowl because I decided to make it deeper (yes, I made progress on that during the week while commuting). I’m still knitting Eldest Niece’s mittens (yes, I have done a couple more rows of that second one but haven’t yet picked up for the thumb). I’m still knitting the latest hat (halfway through a shaping row and wondering if the cables are going to be lost in the colours). And I’m still knitting the lattice scarf (wow, that’s an amazingly quick knit but best not attempted when so tired you can’t keep your eyes open and definitely something where you do not want to drop a stitch).

I’m also still knitting that Noro Silk Garden scarf that I started for Eldest Son’s 40th-birthday present. You might recall it morphed into something more sober and serious that my menfolk assured me he might actually wear (I don’t know if he does) but I didn’t unpick what I’d already done. I rolled it up and put it away in one of my many calico shopping bags. I picked it up for my travel knitting on Sunday, wanting something gratifying but not requiring huge amounts of concentration – I needed to be able to identify sheep and crops and participate in conversation, you know – and being a straightforward 1×1 rib, it was ideal for the purpose.

So I’m still knitting quite a lot. I’m just not finishing anything.

And now I have an emergency sewing project: some more toobs, please, because one is lost and the weather is getting too chilly to be without such a thing. OK, I’ve tracked down the black polar fleece, must be close to locating the white and am clearing the sewing table. Back soon!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “still knitting

  1. seascapesaus

    May 9, 2013 at 21:35

    You are also very good at juggling! At Bowerbird bazaar last weekend I thought, tingled fangers is probably here among all these groovy crafty people! I was looking for blonde tangles, not sure why!

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      May 9, 2013 at 22:19

      Aah, no, I wasn’t. The juggling is presently related more to sort of surviving and sort of making an effort at work and sort of all sorts of things. Hard to focus, I have to say. And to add to my woes, my washing machine has finally decided it’s done too many miles. After only 19 years. How rude! LOL

       

Leave a Reply

 
