RSS

this one is for me

16 Jun

Those from truly chilly climes can stop reading now, but anyone who considers temperatures below 10 degrees cold enough to need a good beanie will understand why I’ve decided that, no matter what else I knit, I have to knit a decent beanie for myself. It’s not that I’ve never had one. Why, I remember knitting any number of decent beanies back in the 70s – photos from winter beach holidays provide evidence of all the younger fry happily sporting such made-by-me items – and at least one of them must have been for me. I had a silly one that I knitted to take to Italy, where I knew it was going to be damn cold and I was right; minus 22 will do your head in nicely if it’s not covered. It was made from a collection of leftover wool and had a matching scrappy pompom made specially by one of my patients. I loved that beanie and the pompom (because of its provenance), but I couldn’t say for sure what happened to it. It might have been lost in one of the many moves. Or Dr B, who hated it and hasn’t a humorous bone in his body, might have surreptitiously disposed of it.

I’ve made lots of quick, acrylic beanies for YoungB and a balaclava for myself in the meantime and they’ve done the job well enough most of the time. Even unique, labelled beanies will disappear from child care (a couple of YoungB’s hadnknitted beanies did), so I wasn’t anxious to use good yarn that would benefit others. Sorry if that’s selfish, but I was cranky enough about having things stolen (the children might easily have mixed things up but the adults would have known what did and didn’t belong to their own child; and the adults could easily have read the identifying nametag). I didn’t need to feel angry as well about the yarn involved! I used wool for YoungB’s first balaclava, but we agreed that by then he was old enough to speak out in defence of his ownership and that the balaclava probably wouldn’t be a casualty; nor was it. We still have it.

On my own behalf, I’ve been accustomed to working in airconditioned buildings where I haven’t had to worry greatly about my head being cold, so the walk to and from from the bus was about as much as I needed to consider and therefore my acrylic balaclava, worn down as a proper balaclava or rolled up and worn as a beanie, did the job. That’s no longer the case and I changed my mind very quickly the other day when I was out on a long walk, wearing a little acrylic beanie I’d made for YoungB some years back – I have a small head, so the size difference was negligible – and feeling distinctly that something wasn’t working. My ears were cold!

Having enjoyed the results of recent beanies knitted with decent yarn, I last night cast on one for myself in some more of Bendigo Woollen Mills’ Murano yarn, this time in shade 021, a blue/green/purple mix. They’re definitely my sorts of colours (not only appealing to me but also quite good with my greying blonde hair and accompanying fair complexion). Just for variety, however, as well as speediness, I decided that this time rather than a fancy pattern with cables I’d use pattern 15 from Paton’s Book 483 as my basis. It’s a fairly plain ribbed affair, getting its fun element from stripes but it’s a slightly different shape from others I’ve made recently. Because the yarn I’m using is self-striping, I’m just ribbing to the point where the pattern says to start stocking stitch. And, you know, it has a pompom. We’ll see about that. I might make one. Then again, I might not.

The question, really, is whether or not I can finish it in time for tomorrow’s early morning walk around the rowing course.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 16, 2013 in Knitting

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “this one is for me

  1. Giggles in the Sun

    June 16, 2013 at 20:50

    the losing of named ‘stuff’ with kids is truly annoying, because obviously they want to take their favourites and then … I spent half an hour searching high and low for a hat once only to spy it on another kids head and the lady then said it can’t be mine, because the child (a two year old) said it was his … in the end, my daughter was crying, the other child was screaming, the lady was huffing and I was glad to leave with my daughter’s hat.

    good luck with the speed knitting, hopefully you get it done in time 🙂

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      June 17, 2013 at 11:00

      Yes, it’s an old gripe, isn’t it, that one about kids and their clothing (I went to boarding school; I label everything) and how on earth you get around it. I never found an answer, I have to say, and to this day I still label YoungB’s gear if I know he has something that 69 others are likely to have as well or if he and Dr B have similar items. It helps avoid disputes.

      I didn’t finish the beanie. Realistically, even without a pompom, I was never going to! But if I hadn’t had to hang out a load of laundry and I hadn’t had to go to bed so I could get up early and go for a walk, I might have. 😉

       
  2. Stephanie Lanzetti

    June 16, 2013 at 23:08

    Good luck with the beanie.. I am in the process of knitting one myself, but saw a lovely lacy beret typy looking one; think I might ditch the first one and find a pattern for the other.. I am sure I have some wool in my stash..

    stephanie

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      June 17, 2013 at 11:02

      I like the sound of a lacy beret (and I think I hearted one on Ravelry only the other day) so good luck with that; but I can be quite dedicated about plain knitting when the need is real and immediate. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
