RSS

whiling away the hours

03 Jul
Stashbusting!

Stashbusting some Moda Vera Faith in a much more purple colourway than the photo would suggest

I’ve often said that I need simple projects to occupy me when I’m multitasking: a plain scarf or beanie while reviewing the family’s daily diary after dinner or perhaps something with a simple pattern for car travel where I’ll be expected to sit in the back but still participate in conversations I can barely hear. That means the Ursula mittens are off the agenda for a while. Presently there’s too much coming and going and toing and froing for me to be able to get the requisite hours of uninterrupted time. The above chevron-style scarf is complex enough to keep me interested but not so much so that I can’t deal with other things. And it’s made using yarn from stash.

As far as the mitts go, I’ve checked out a few finished projects on Ravelry and people seem to be getting them made quite quickly. I might also be able to do them quickly but, as I frequently say with brutal honesty, I’m not a fast knitter. It would pay me to wait until I have a better amount of uninterrupted time. If I’m still unemployed when the next semester of uni gets going, my days will be more my own and that could be a good time to ignore everyone and do my own thing for a while. Of course, if by some miracle I’ve found a job by then, I’ll have to rethink my knitting plans entirely. That would be a nice dilemma to have, I suppose, but for now I’m quite happy to keep on with the knitting. How about you?

 
8 Comments

Posted by on July 3, 2013 in Knitting

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “whiling away the hours

  1. Giggles in the Sun

    July 3, 2013 at 18:19

    I do continental knitting so I am quite fast, but I too struggle with interruptions. I am often knitting in the time it takes for the kids to finish an activity or whilst I wait at pickup, so most of my knitting is done in short intervals, which is not so good for the more complicated things. I have a pullover sitting there where the arms need to be finished off and it’s been waiting for about a month or so … I think I just have to not start another thing until this is finished otherwise it’ll be summer before it gets done 🙂

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      July 3, 2013 at 19:18

      I would go backwards if I knitted continental style. I know it’s a good, fast style for those as can manage it but a fast knitter is a fast knitter irrespective of knitting style and, no two ways about it, I’m not! I think your pullover waiting for only a month is really not that long. I keep projects for years, sometimes, before I get around to completing them. 🙂

       
  2. allnightknits

    July 3, 2013 at 18:37

    Sometimes I forget what it is like to knit with distractions, since my niece is older now she just wants to knit along with me! So besides my cat, there’s no distractions. I love your project by the way, it is a wonderful pattern.

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      July 3, 2013 at 19:21

      I wouldn’t mind if I had company knitting along because I think there’s the potential to achieve more when you’re not concentrating solely on what you’re doing. Sometimes I feel a bit isolated because nobody in my immediate circle knits. I remember my Mum and her sisters sitting around the table chatting and knitting and I was delighted when I was able to join them. I’ll include details about the scarf pattern in a later post, I think; I just couldn’t for the life of me track down the link when I was writing this one – but, yes, it’s pretty, isn’t it?

       
      • allnightknits

        July 4, 2013 at 01:08

        It really is lovely. I also love the idea of a KAL because like you, I am the lone knitter amongst all my friends. I tried to teach a few but they just didn’t have the patients for it – they knew they could just ask me to make what they wanted after all 😉

         
  3. sewbusylizzy

    July 3, 2013 at 20:06

    I used to loathe knitting but now I love the time it takes & the solitude it provides me. I’m currently knitting Chuck by Andi Satterlund.

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      July 3, 2013 at 21:42

      Ooh, that’s lovely and will suit you beautifully. Looking forward to seeing the finished article.

       
      • sewbusylizzy

        July 4, 2013 at 05:50

        I just need to stop making mistakes – Dry July has improved matters!

         

Leave a Reply

 
