RSS

it might be winter, but snow?

20 Jul

Mt Hotham in the Australian Alps. Image from Wikipedia

We had some today, apparently. I know we had lots of rain and some hail because I happened to be out at the time: driving YoungB to training on the other side of town. Training was cancelled, so the coach messaged when we were only about 10 minutes from home, which meant we could turn around and come home again. We did. The dilemma then is, do I stay up and capitalise on being mostly awake by bowling over a stack of housework? Or do I go back to bed and get some more shuteye? I opted to take my knitting to bed. I know, it was neither one thing nor the other and the best choice would certainly have been more sleep. However, I felt at least a little bit productive. And then it snowed up in the Hills. It was more like sleet, some reports have it; but the photos I’ve seen suggest it really was snow, however light a covering it generated for a little while. It’s a big deal for us to have snow. We get out and build ridiculously small snowmen and have a great time. Whether snow or sleet, it’s certainly been a cold day.

YoungB is on his way to what might well be some serious snow (heavier falls are forecast in the very near future, I gather; something like 60 cm in the next couple of days) for a week of fun. It wouldn’t be fun to me – I hate the cold; snow is lovely on postcards and Christmas cards but not in real life, thank you – but he’s young and doesn’t mind the cold TOO much, so I think he’ll have a good time. He elected not to go with the pillowcase option for one of his dress-up costumes, which saved me from a fair amount of head-scratching. We settled on a large garbage bag which would provide protection of all sorts, we reckoned! For the Cops and Robbers night, he’s taken his black balaclava. Like I said, they’re popular items, those black balaclavas. He’s taken his red beanie and his black toob, too. Oh, and the grey sweatshirt I made was on his back. So even if I didn’t refashion a pillowcase, my handiwork has gone with him.

Whatever your weather is doing, I hope you’re having a productive weekend. I think I’ll go and stand in front of the fire for a bit and then? Then it’s back to the knitting.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 20, 2013 in Knitting, Sewing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “it might be winter, but snow?

  1. pomegranateandchintz

    July 21, 2013 at 07:11

    Yay for the cold – I do love Winter!! It was so nice yesterday to rug up and sit with my sewing watching all that cold and rain outside…….luv it!!

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      July 21, 2013 at 14:23

      I’m glad there’s someone out there who enjoys this weather. I really don’t. It’s too cold to sew and I want to stand about two inches away from the heater all day. Very counterproductive! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
