RSS

half a leg, half a leg – onwards!

06 Aug
The purple cardie has been frogged. Goodbye, purple cardie

The purple cardie has been frogged. Goodbye, purple cardie

That was rather a lot of work to unpick. But, what the heck. Now I’m doing something different with a plain yarn (at Dr B’s urging). You know the lovely thing about 200g balls of yarn? You can do a lot before you run out. And the good thing about doing a cardie all in one to the underarm? Think how much you’ve achieved by the time you get there! The downside to both of those, especially in combination? You feel like you’re never going to get to the end of that ball of yarn, no matter how furiously you knit. And you can’t believe how long it’s taking to have something worthwhile to wave about by way of explanation as to how busy you’ve been. If you’d done the pieces separately, why, you’d have the back finished.

Also, photos are very boring. Just large swathes of cranberry-coloured stocking stitch (and a couple of inches of good-looking 1×1 ribbing). However, I’ve done about 10″ of the cardie so the dividing for back and two fronts is not far away (in other words, I’ve almost caught up to where I was on the purple cardie, where I’d knitted 13″). For me, that’s good progress. It’s a bit lumpier than my usual output but part of that is, I think, that I’m getting lots of interruptions, so it’s being put down and picked up more than is good for its smoothness. Never mind, the lumpiness will certainly block out when finally I reach that stage.

Meanwhile, it’s back to the Bendigo Woollen Mills’ Classic 12 ply in combination with the faithful Patons Classic pattern (a good match). I’m using shade 664 which is cranberry and Patons Classics Book 102 Raglan Cardigans for Ladies pattern number 1 in size D/95 mm. I’d probably normally fall into the category of tight knitters (rather than loose, if you had to err either side) but I’m using needle sizes recommended for average knitters because they gave me correct tension/gauge. I knit more loosely on circulars (even when knitting to and fro). That means I’m using UK 4/6 mm and UK 8/4 mm (a confusing combination when you write it down).

Oh, and I’m still trying to find a job, of course.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 6, 2013 in Knitting

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “half a leg, half a leg – onwards!

  1. ElizabethL42

    August 7, 2013 at 04:46

    Too bad ..I hare having to frog. But beautiful color!

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      August 7, 2013 at 10:17

      Yes, I’m not happy about it, I have to say. But, alas, it clearly wasn’t going to fit its intended recipient. 😦

       

Leave a Reply

 
