RSS

rebellion at the Centrelink queue

09 Aug

That may be a little misleading. I wasn’t in the Centrelink queue and I had no plans to go there, either; so it was more a rebelling at the idea of the queue.

I wanted somewhere to put my hankies, somewhere that wasn’t scrunched up under all the other stuff in the undies drawer. I wanted a hanky sachet, by which I mean a special container for my hankies, not a lavender sachet made from old hankies (for which you’ll find tutorials here and here, for example, and I’m sure there are many others). I used to have a hanky sachet, back in the days when everyone used hankies and had such things (and, therefore, knew what they were). It was a pretty, blue satin number with a decorated top and I don’t quite know during which move I lost it, but I did. The other day I’d had enough. Just enough.

So, instead of following up on more leads and employment websites, instead of queuing at Centrelink, I cleared the sewing table and fossicked around in my drawer of fabric scraps. (It’s not the same thing as the undies drawer, I promise you.) I came up with some leftovers that I thought would be large enough that I wouldn’t need to do too much fancy footwork and I ironed them all. I’ll repeat that: I ironed them all. There’s nothing complicated about straight sewing, but when you’ve foolishly included a piece of stretch satin fabric and everything else is plain woven, you should expect to have a few problems. I did.

However, after I’d put some of my lavender and spice mix into the gap between the outer and lining layers – because that keeps the hankies smelling sweet and the undies, too – I stitched it up envelope-style and called it done. It’s not the neatest sewing I’ve ever done but it does the job. I also made half a dozen lavender bags to hang in my wardrobe. I’d been borrowing them at such an alarming rate to give away with knitted gifts that I’d almost run out. These are small achievements, however messy the results, but they break up the boredom of my days and give me some positive reward for effort (job-hunting certainly doesn’t do that).

Hanky sachets are old-fashioned things, I know, but I’ve made quite a few over the years (including one for YoungB that he loves) so it’s time I had my own again, even if the fabric used – camo with helicopters! – mean it looks as if it would be more at home in Dr B’s undies drawer than tucked away in mine.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 9, 2013 in Sewing

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “rebellion at the Centrelink queue

  1. Giggles in the Sun

    August 10, 2013 at 10:55

    I loath Centrelink with all my being. I am always surprised just how monumentally incapable they seem to be. I have often thought of collecting all the anecdotes people tell me when the topic of Centrelink come up, because you couldn’t make them up in your wildest dreams 🙂

    Anyway, good luck with the job hunt and hope you have a good weekend.

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      August 10, 2013 at 11:48

      Thank you, Giggles. Yeah, I think you have to have a great deal of fortitude to be unemployed (or in a position where you have to deal with Centrelink for some reason). The good thing about it is that it’s a great place to take your knitting! Lovely sunny day here, so hope you get to do some giggling in it too.

       

Leave a Reply

 
