RSS

and then a grey morning comes along

20 Nov
Sparkly, innit? That's exactly what it was NOT like this morning!

Sparkly, innit? That’s exactly what it was NOT like this morning!

Yesterday I was exhorting YoungB to make sure he kept cool and hydrated. Today I’m telling him to rug up and keep warm. It’s been a bit like that lately, with the weather fairly unpredictable and seeming to vacillate between (relative) extremes. (I know, I know, it’s either extreme or it’s not. Divergent conditions, then?)

He and I were out early this morning, he to row in a quad that had first to be rigged, I to stroll around the lake. I took my knitting in the hope that I would do a few rows in the car while I was waiting for him to finish training and pack up. I didn’t. There are occasions when even garter stitch is too taxing and I think the morning fell squarely into that category. As I said, at this time of year we’re like everyone else: tired. But, you know, gloomy or not and tired or not, I’d really better get cracking on that scarf or it won’t be under the Christmas tree!

I hope that your weather isn’t proving too much of a deterrent to your crafting endeavours; and, of course, that your afternoons turn out sunny even if the mornings are not. Luckily, that’s what has happened here.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 20, 2013 in Knitting, Sewing

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “and then a grey morning comes along

  1. sewbusylizzy

    November 20, 2013 at 21:44

    We have had some harsh storms – hello $3.5k hail damage to my car!

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      November 21, 2013 at 10:34

      😦 that’s such a drag. Commiserations. I well recall the hammertone finish that many local vehicles sported in Armidale when the hailstorms pounded them.

       
      • sewbusylizzy

        November 21, 2013 at 21:32

        Oh the upside the husband decided to upgrade my car after it’s repaired. There’s a little red Honda civic coming my way!

         
      • Felicity from Down Under

        November 22, 2013 at 07:34

        Aha! So every cloud, however grey, really does have a silver – or, in your case, civic – lining!

         

Leave a Reply

 
