RSS

prototype or wearable toile

17 Dec
Yalta top in a stiffer fabric than suits it with a bigger cowl than I wanted; the faults are mine!

Yalta top in a stiffer fabric than suits it with a bigger cowl than I wanted; the faults are mine!

I think the galactic fabric – really; it’s described as photoreal and, things cosmic being always hot topics in our house, it seemed to be good choice – turned into what ought to be considered a wearable toile. Therefore, since it won’t meet the stringent demands of the challenge I set for Sewlutions, I might as well carry on and make a few comments about it now.

Firstly, the fabric is quite strange, having an almost rubbery feel to it. I chose it because of the colour. I needed a knit fabric and would have been happy with a plainer one but there was nothing to be had that was at all appealing (and certainly nothing in my stash, which was the first place I looked). The slight rubberiness makes it surprisingly warm (not always a good thing in an Aussie summer) and it holds shape well. In fact, for the pattern I used, a softer fabric with a correspondingly softer drape might be a good thing. No matter. It’s a toile, however wearable (and of course I’ll wear it; I’m like that) and the whole idea of such a thing is to learn from what you have done so that you can improve when you do it again. Yes, I like the top enough to want to do a better job.

I’ve nutted out a lower profile way of having the gathered effect on this fabric – using good, old-fashioned gathering threads, which didn’t cause too much bulk – and I ended up hemming it for the sake of tidiness. I haven’t yet rescued the armscyes but may do so at some stage. It’s wearable and all right. Its many errors of construction mean it’s less than brilliant but the fault is mine, not the pattern’s. The pattern, the ladies’ Yalta top by Lena Merrin, is great. And when I make my next one – perhaps not immediately but fairly soon, I think – I’ll take a bit more time to do it properly. Whether I’ll use the required self-tape to obtain the gathered look I’m not too sure. I might go with clear elastic to reduce bulk. Or perhaps when I take a bit more time, finish things properly and use a less bulky fabric, there’ll be no problem.

Sometimes you throw caution to the wind and go with the flow, which is rather what I did on Saturday afternoon because time was pressing. I decided that, if I spent any more time trying to look up hints on the computer, I’d never get anything sewn. I’d looked at the tutorial on how to do the cowl which was not a lot of help to me because there’s insufficient contrast in colour for it to be easy to follow; but I think the idea is what I’d arrived at as the answer (only after a third attempt, which took me to a different solution, was the one I’d decided would have to do or we’d never be getting to the party at all): a pillowcase-style closure method.

Next time, I’ll be careful to cut the cowl to match whatever size I’ve decided on for the shoulders, rather than what I decided would fit for the bust, as I think perhaps I did this time. That should give me a smaller cowl, which was partly what attracted me to the Yalta; I do like the softness of a cowl and the slight variation of neckline that’s achieved with only a small alteration but am perhaps too small myself to carry a large cowl with much confidence these days. Plus, you know, cleavage-visibility problems are much likelier with a larger cowl. Acceptable at 17, perhaps, but 40 years later? Not so much.

And, although I can’t measure across my own back, I’m not so truly indolent that I hadn’t checked any measurements. I had measured my circumferences and checked against the chart Lena gives and I can see that there’s a significant mismatch for me and/or the pattern runs quite large. It’s voluminous on me, except at the hip (which is probably about right). Do I care? Not much. It’s a bit different, the fabric is fun and a pretty colour and, all in all, if every garment I made, toile or not, turned out as well, I’d be very happy. Yes, there are a few bumpy bits of sewing, and the fact that – of course – they occur where the black thread crosses the patches of pale fabric means they’re quite obvious, I don’t suppose many people really will notice, particularly if I’m wearing a jacket.

So if I could consider that a successful toile but probably not suitable for a place of employment or perhaps a really decent top, then I’m still well behind in my Sewlution sewing! How about you?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 17, 2013 in Sewing, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
