RSS

what a few days’ effort will get you

29 Dec

Sitting in a car and not having to drive is quite a treat. Also, sitting about waiting for cyclists is quite a treat. Watching movies you’ve already seen might fall into that category, too. You can get lots of knitting done!

A quick, easy pattern deserving of beautiful yarn but here made with some stash yarn.

A quick, easy pattern deserving of beautiful yarn but here made with some unexciting stash yarn.

These are Maine-morning mitts, started on Christmas Day and doing very well, thank you. No, they’re not in a beautiful yarn that showcases lovely colours like the proper thing. But they are in colours worn by the intended recipient whose hands they’ll keep warm; for that, a pretty colourway is not the whole story. Something thick and cosy is also important. The decision to knit these having been an extremely last-minute one, I used what I had in stash, pairing some self-striping yarn with a related-in-tone plain yarn to get the requisite thickness.

The fingerless mitts pattern I usually use has a definite left hand and a definite right hand. These do not and, as you’ll observe, I haven’t yet finished the thumb on the first mitt. That requires a bit more concentration than I could muster when sitting in the car and joining in the conversation. I thought, however, that I could probably just leave those isolated thumb stitches and keep going with the second mitt until I had the main part of both done. Seems to be working so far.

How about you? If you’ve been travelling, have you managed to make the most of any opportunities? Good luck with your output.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 29, 2013 in Knitting

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “what a few days’ effort will get you

  1. Giggles in the Sun

    December 29, 2013 at 20:42

    I struggle knitting this time of year due to the heat, so I admire you doubly for getting this done since Christmas. Well done 🙂

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      December 29, 2013 at 21:33

      thank you, but it hasn’t actually been terribly hot here; plus, something small like these mitts doesn’t really come into contact enough to make me hot (another bonus, perhaps).

       
  2. seascapesaus

    December 29, 2013 at 22:00

    Not travelling lately, but was disappointed when crochet hooks etc were barred from airplanes. Cars are good, but I am a bit more of a nervous traveller these days. I took a big couch rug to crochet at the footy one year (not in club colours) and it kept my legs warm while I worked and watched.

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      December 30, 2013 at 17:15

      That sounds like an excellent way to support your team and keep warm at the same time (even more, I suppose, if it had been in team colours)! I thought the regulations had been relaxed somewhat so that it was now OK to carry knitting needles and/or crochet hooks on planes; but as I haven’t tried it myself, I can’t say that from personal experience.

       

Leave a Reply

 
