RSS

logically, what you would do on a stinking hot day

11 Jan

Because today has been hot here (next week is going to be hotter), I’ve ventured outside to do laundry tasks and not a lot else. Yes, I like the heat but I’m not stupid. There might be some discussion around that claim if I admit that, well, being confined indoors somewhat, I occupied myself by doing some knitting! No, not large items that would certainly be too hot to hold but small things that don’t need to be held in your lap.

As a result, the Maine morning mitts are finished and waiting to be photographed (albeit unblocked as yet). Next? The first of another pair of fingerless mitts (a different pattern) is already on the needles and making good progress. This pair might be for me, since I’m still in possession of only one old, falling to bits, cheap and nasty (but better than nothing when you’re desperate) lot of fingerless gloves. I prefer fingerless mitts when I have to do a lot of typing, because you don’t get quite so much constriction around your fingers. These are important considerations! And clearly, I can’t type if I’m wearing mittens, so much as I’m still planning on knitting the Ursula mittens, they’re not being whizzed up the queue at all. They’re a very long-term project.

Have you been occupied logically or illogically doing much knitting today? If so, I hope you’ve managed to bowl over a project or two.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 11, 2014 in Knitting

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “logically, what you would do on a stinking hot day

  1. Giggles in the Sun

    January 12, 2014 at 09:07

    I have been itching to start some knitting, but I am making myself wait till March, because my tension varies significantly with the temps and the whole thing gets distorted then 🙂

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      January 12, 2014 at 11:01

      That’s a very sensible way of looking at things. I think I’m OK with small articles but if I were to make anything larger, it might well suffer from heat-induced tension variations. I think, however, that I’m too entrenched a knitter to wait till March and I admire your ability to do so!

       
  2. pomegranateandchintz

    January 12, 2014 at 09:13

    Yes, bracing myself for next week’s weather! Not knitting tho’!!

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      January 12, 2014 at 11:03

      I truly don’t mind the hot weather but even I won’t be galloping about next week. Therefore, a couple of small knitting projects – I have some cotton items on my list – will perhaps be just the shot.

       

Leave a Reply

 
