RSS

at our house on a Saturday morning

18 Jan
Kick start your day with a beverage!

Kick start your day with a beverage!

The chaos started later than usual today, with our alarms set for an hour later than usual. The boys cycled off at close to their appointed hour (later than they should have, but with time to get to the regatta course by 7.00). I finished my breakfast, put a load of laundry on, knitted a few rows of the mitts I’m making (because I was down that end of the house and it seemed like too good an opportunity to miss), closed all the windows and locked the doors then headed out for a walk. After an exceedingly hot week, today we’re experiencing cool[er] weather, so that I was an hour later than usual wasn’t an issue. The lack of energy certainly was.

We live in an area that epitomises 1970s urban design: what you might call closed-loop neighbourhoods, where there are lots of roads but only a couple that provide exits to arterial roads. There are many downsides to such design but one of the upsides is that there are lots of footpaths – both the “sidewalk” variety and those that link streets and simply provide pedestrian access from the housing areas to public transport or shops and schools – and if you’re clever about how you use them, you can walk a long way without going too far from home.

I set out to walk what I call my round-the-block walk (it’s about 4 Km), which is really more like a truncated halfway round. The full halfway round is a shade under 6 Km (yes, I do that, too) and the full round-the-block loop would probably be 12 Km in a car but somewhat less on foot (the paths don’t necessarily hug the roads tightly and they avoid the busier intersections). You can do all sorts of loops within the loops to make as long a walk as you want. Today I was looking for a way to shorten mine because, by about the halfway mark, I was ready to be home in bed! There’s no way to make it a very short walk when you’re quite that far around and there’s always that little voice saying, “Don’t be a wimp.”

In the interests of trying to stay healthy and keep fit and shed a few kilos and all of those other reasons why I walk – I actually like walking! – I didn’t take the absolutely shortest route home but I reduced the overall distance by 400 metres (nearly a lap of the oval, if you think about it in those terms). It was perhaps the slowest walk I’ve done in a very long while but I have at least been for a walk. I don’t presently feel as if I’ve benefited from it, but I must have. That’s just logical. (When I get over feeling so groggy, I’m sure I’ll sound more convincing about that!)

Dr B is home again from the regatta course, having cycled there and back. Therefore he, of course, has burned off thousands of kilojoules and his halo is blinding me – that’s not new; it usually is! – and YoungB will have burned off even more thousands by the time he gets home – because, in addition to cycling there and rowing however many laps of the course today’s training involves, he’ll have done a group cycle with the club before cycling home again – but do you know what? I don’t care. It’s Saturday and that means it’s the weekend and we don’t have to be dreadfully energetic, do we? So, apart from hanging out the first load of laundry, dealing with a second and hanging that out as well then making another pot of coffee, I’ve sat about and done not a lot. And that’s pretty much my plan for the rest of the day, with a spot of knitting thrown in when I’m down in the sewing room, I suspect. Every little bit here and there adds up in the end and the mitts are coming along surprisingly well. You could say the same about exercise, I suppose: it all helps, even the little bits.

What about you? Have you kick-started your weekend with coffee (or tea, if that’s your preferred brew) and some exercise? If exercise has featured, well done. But don’t forget to do some knitting or sewing, will you, to balance the halo shininess?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 18, 2014 in Cycling, Health, Knitting, Musing, Rowing

 

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “at our house on a Saturday morning

  1. seascapesaus

    January 18, 2014 at 22:30

    You have done well to resurface after that heat Felicity. We are all wiped out! Coffee and tea here, yes, but my greatest exercise was babysitting, shopping and nursing home visiting and a nap on the couch after lunch.

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      January 19, 2014 at 10:18

      The nap on the couch after lunch has my vote. I only didn’t get around to that yesterday because of the irregular hours kept by the rest of the household! I hope you’re feeling a little less wiped out now that our temps have cooled a little.

       
      • seascapesaus

        January 19, 2014 at 21:22

        yes, definitely, thanks!

         
  2. mybeautfulthings

    January 19, 2014 at 00:00

    Coffee -yes! A gentle day today after a hectic week, maybe a walk later! 🙂

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      January 19, 2014 at 10:16

      Yep, we need down time. The coffee certainly helps – some people might argue that it doesn’t because caffeine is a stimulant but I don’t have that gene in my make-up because it doesn’t give me the shakes or anything remotely like them; but I like the taste – and I hope you’re imbibed plenty of it (or enough, anyway) during a restful day.

       

Leave a Reply

 
