RSS

wussy or wise?

02 Feb

Long ago we used to play outdoor sports in high temperatures. We were mad.

Pleased the race is over

Pleased the race is over

Today’s rowing regatta, the second day of our state championships, was cancelled at about 10.30 this morning, after only a few of the day’s races had been won. The photo was taken yesterday when the temperatures were lower and there was a cool breeze to keep them that way but today was only going to keep getting hotter. The regatta program had already excluded certain competitors and classes but extreme heat wreaks havoc.

When the announcement was made, there were a few comments about how rowing must be a wussy sport. Most of us recognised that the decision was not merely in line with national policy but also plain sensible. I told YoungB he should take a photo of me – he didn’t – because he was looking at something he’d probably never seen before and might never see again: me being hot. Yep, I was. And all I’d been doing was walking not terribly energetically for a couple of hours, then sitting about at the start line for a while taking photos from a different angle. I’d kept hydrated, I’d found shade where possible and I was wearing a broad-brimmed hat and sunnies. If with all those precautions and doing not much I was hot and bothered, athletes working hard would be seriously affected.

We went and had early lunch by the seaside then came home and, to a person, collapsed in the airconditioned lounge room. Even I, who hate sleeping with the aircon? Yep. I had told Dr B and YoungB that my plan was to sew myself a summer dress when I came home – some shirred sundress that would take no time at all – because I really don’t have any for just bumming about the place; but it wasn’t happening.

If you’re also in a heat-afflicted area, I hope you’re able to keep cool. If you’re enduring below-zero temperatures, it’s a pity we can’t combine our extremes to come up with a workable middle ground, isn’t it? Take care, everyone, whatever your weather.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 2, 2014 in Rowing, Sewing

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “wussy or wise?

  1. Emmely

    February 2, 2014 at 19:46

    I used to row when I was younger and it is such an intense sport. It was probably wise to cancel. The last thing you need is people collapsing from the heat when they are sitting in a very narrow and unstable boat…

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      February 2, 2014 at 20:49

      I absolutely agree. I know that with the first-grade rowers you might be looking at only six or seven minutes of intense effort and there are ways of ensuring you keep cool when you’re out there. But yesterday YoungB was saying how hot he was – and how grateful for the little ice bath they’d rigged up! – and yesterday wasn’t in the same league.

       
  2. itznu

    February 5, 2014 at 10:15

    I paddle around in all kinds of weather, but it never gets above 90F where I live. My favorite is around 40F, early in the morning. It’s warm enough that you are still comfy if you get a little bit wet, but cold enough that there is lakemist and no people around. You can paddle hard in this weather without getting too sweaty or sore. People around here say it’s too cold to get on the water whenever it isn’t insanely hot and I don’t know how to respond.

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      February 5, 2014 at 10:25

      I would consider 40F too cold 🙂 Thanks for commenting, I had a look at your blog. Ouch, all those formulae! Interesting, though. Keep paddling!

       

Leave a Reply

 
