RSS

turning, turning

03 Feb

It’s the case that the weather is still scorching, although not so hot today as it was yesterday, but daylight in the mornings? Ah, yes, that’s lessening. Mornings are definitely darker. YoungB said it’s almost at the stage where they need their regulation boat lights for training sessions and he’s right. The blackness at 4.15 is more intense and doesn’t dissipate as quickly. I know this is the way the world turns and that we’re heading into winter, despite the soaring mercury, but it’s always a sad recognition. Expect little but gloom from hereon in!

The upside, I suppose, is that somewhere else in the world has mornings that are now appreciably lighter. If that’s you, I’m sure you’re cheering loudly! And that’s just the way it should be.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 3, 2014 in Musing

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “turning, turning

  1. The Twisted Yarn

    February 4, 2014 at 06:31

    Yes, must admit I’m appreciating our lighter evenings at last, if not the constant constant rain. But it’ll be our turn for darkening soon enough, and then you’ll be well on your way to summer again.

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      February 4, 2014 at 07:35

      I understand the dilemma with appreciating one part of the equation and not the other (although, in our case, it’s a very strange thing for me to be making any adverse comments about the heat). Our clocks will go back to ordinary time in a while and I suppose the mornings will be a bit lighter then; but by that stage, you should be well into lighter days all round.

       
  2. Emmely

    February 5, 2014 at 05:01

    Oh yes, I am very happy that the darkness in the morning is slowly decreasing. Now I am looking forward to not having to turn on the lights on my bike when I go home in the evening after work.

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      February 5, 2014 at 09:23

      Yep, and that’s a very important little event, isn’t it? I used to watch how bright the streets were when I came out of my office building. The day I could see clearly was always a time to remark on it; you know, just in case I’d been kidding myself up to that point. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
