RSS

if not winning, then certainly grinning

12 Mar

You’ve probably noticed how erratically I’ve been blogging. That’s been largely because I’ve had no desktop computer for the best part of a year. Tonight I’m back on a desktop computer; my own, what’s more. This is a reality too wonderful to contemplate so it’s a good thing that there are downsides such as a very sticky keyboard – that’s been swapped already – and quite the wrong workstation to accommodate the new machine.

The experience of being without a computer for such a long time leads me to observe that, when you can’t use your computer, you end up not doing a lot of work that you should be doing, which is occasionally close to disastrous. On the other hand, if you knit and crochet, you end up doing a lot of crocheting and knitting and I have been: several crocheted cowls and six pairs of knitted, fingerless mitts (at last count). The mitts – using a variety of yarns but predominantly Bendigo’s Murano – have garnered particular admiration and a rash of requests for made-to-order birthday presents. “Please?” Eldest Niece asked in a very winning way. I like it when people ask for something I can manage that I know they’ll use and enjoy. Not having a computer for so long wasn’t a win in most respects but I am at least grinning because I can truthfully say that I’m doing quite well with my not-a-New-Year’s-resolution to spend more time being creative.

Next step, sorting out photos! Wish me luck.Or do you think I should step away from that for another year?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 12, 2015 in Crochet, Knitting

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
