RSS

there probably is a time for everything

24 Mar

You might recall I said I’d been doing a reasonable amount of crochet and knitting while my computer was not working. One such item was this pair of fingerless mitts for a work colleague. They started out a couple of years ago as a birthday present for someone else but plans changed – as they so often do – and the mitts languished, awaiting their moment. I’ve often said I don’t frog projects when they come to a grinding halt, just put them away for a while, which sometimes works in my favour if I need something in a hurry.

The building where I work has airconditioning that’s unpredictably crazy, but errs on the side of glacial most of the year. When birthday presents were mentioned, mitts seemed a sensible notion and these fitted the bill in many ways, mostly that they were about 50% done, the colours were right and I had a couple of weekends available for knitting the remainder, weaving in the surprisingly large number of ends and allowing plenty of time for blocking; or so I thought.

just the shot to keep your fingers functioning in a chilly chamber

just the shot to keep your fingers functioning in a chilly chamber

Dr B was good enough to photograph them for me, though you’d probably agree that we need to work on our layout and presentation. 😉 The pattern is one I’ve used many times, knitted using Lincraft Cosy Wool, a pure wool 8 ply yarn, on size UK10/3.25 mm needles. The plain yarn is a navy colourway, the variegated something I thought would play nicely with that (and whose ball bands have long since vanished, so I’m unable to provide detail of either colour or dye lot). As it turned out, they weren’t quite ready for the birthday breakfast – being still damp as they blocked in the spare bedroom – but I was able to hand them over on the following Monday morning at work with the usual accompanying lavender bag. Their time had finally come 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 24, 2015 in Knitting

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
