RSS

plainly, I don’t knit that fast

27 Jun

Ya wanna know how the mitts went? I made quite good progress with them through the week but there was no way I was going to finish them by Thursday. Work is too busy, meaning I’m working longer hours to try to stop that overwhelming me (failing) and, yeah, just not enough leftover hours. I’m almost finished one mitt – only the  thumb left – and have cast on for the second. My boss is unperturbed. He’s the sort of person who’ll be pleased to get them any time, so if I can maintain a steady pace with the knitting this week, they might be ready for him to wear to next weekend’s footy match.

Appearances to the contrary notwithstanding, this really is in the middle of dense suburbia

Appearances to the contrary notwithstanding, this really is in the middle of dense suburbia

Not being footy people ourselves, I suppose we’ll be out walking again. Today we managed a shade over 15 Km in a loop and 251 m of climbing (last week it was only 209 m). We have a wonderful parkland reserve within walking distance of home – closer than last week’s wetlands – so that’s where we ended up doing a lot of rough walking and most of the climbing. We are both still mercifully free of blisters but my feet were aching by the time we came home and the toe that I’ve broken several times – which, consequently, has next to no ability to bend in any direction – was actively painful. I climbed straight into my compression tights and I’ve been massaging my feet on a couple of tennis balls while I sit at the computer (a suggestion from my podiatrist). I’m improving. I could probably, and very likely will, do another walk tomorrow thought it won’t be such a long one.

So that’s the story of the mitts. They’re not forgotten but, alas, nowhere near finished. I’ll keep knitting. I hope you’re managing to keep knitting, too; or walking, if that’s your thing 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 27, 2015 in Health, Knitting

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
