RSS

sometimes all ya wanna do is knit

19 Jun
But all the fates seem to be conspiring against you :)

But all the fates seem to be conspiring against you 🙂

I don’t knit as much as I would like – with regard to either quantity or frequency – but it’s a good thing I don’t have many urgent requests on my list this year. YoungB seems no closer to getting a beanie, though I have done a tension square for the Fair Isle number he selected. That won’t be good bus knitting, however, so I need another project. I’ve spent hours trying to find a pattern on Ravelry. Of course that’s frustrating because there are so many wonderful patterns to choose from!

Another part of the frustration arises from trying to match Australian wool thicknesses with patterns designed for something else. I found one that seemed to offer a similar needle size to the one suggested on the ball band – that’s at least a good indication that you’re on the right track – but getting the PDF to download? No. It didn’t matter which browser I tried or which “Download here” button I clicked, the pattern resolutely didn’t download. Sometimes technology and I are like that: we exist in a state of mutually armed neutrality.

Searching among my existing hard-copy patterns netted one that would probably work. The circular needle required was a size I didn’t already have and a length that seems uncommon. On my way home from work on Friday, when the city stores are open late, I managed to find what I was after. By the time I got home, I was ready to go. I pulled out the yarn and pattern. Then I tried to get the new circular out of its packet. And, well, that’s what happened.

Returning it? Certainly an option, but not the best one. The local branch doesn’t have this size – I’ve checked many times, and quite recently – so the best I could hope for there would be my money back and still no needle. Enter super glue. I’m now just about to start the first round of grey beanie number 3. Wish me luck!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 19, 2016 in Knitting

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
