RSS

there’s the injured nephew

18 Jul

Eldest Nephew recently fell and damaged his elbow. It’s in a backslab plaster now but expected to improve to a hinged brace by the end of the week. I asked Middle Aunt if there was anything I could do for him; like maybe knit him an arm warmer? She laughed. But she did ask if I would make Middle Uncle a pure-wool beanie, please, in a nice, sober shade of blue. I suggested a mix with alpaca to ensure softness on his not-very-hirsute pate. The outcome was that, as long as the fibres were natural, that would be fine. Luckily for me, this limited release yarn is a wool/alpaca mix and has a couple of shades of blue. I can do that. I’ve sent off the order.

And then I’ve decided to join Meredithe in doing an hour of knitting a day – in my case – and I’d already said socks. I’ve bitten the bullet and finally purchased the Yarn Harlot‘s lovely Old Joe pattern (of which Dr B approves, and that’s good because this pair will be for him). I’m now about to fossick around in the sewing room to find the sock yarn. I’m a little late starting the hour-a-day effort, but I’m sure to be able to catch up by dint of putting in some dedicated commuter knitting in the next few days.

The other beanie I’d begun (for Dr B)? It’s been back-burnered but not frogged. You see? Plans are always flexible. Happy knitting!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 18, 2016 in Health, Knitting

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “there’s the injured nephew

  1. pomegranateandchintz

    July 19, 2016 at 08:44

    Hope you found the sock yarn! Happy knitting.

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      July 20, 2016 at 19:58

      Yes, indeed, thank you. Lurking at the bottom of the stash, along with about four other skeins. I have so many sock plans 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
