RSS

it wasn’t pretty but I did it

22 Aug

That would be the Bloody Long Walk. I wasn’t well and probably should have called it quits before I even started. But, as I often say, that’s why we have pharmaceuticals. Right? That’s YoungB holding me up at the finish line, though you’d swear he was simply giving me a congratulatory hug. Five minutes later I missed the edge of a chair and fell over. I could only laugh hysterically. I couldn’t get up, though I eventually managed it with YoungB’s assistance.That was about when Dr B decided we needed to go home. There was no argument at all from me, so that’s what we did. I went straight to bed the minute we got in the door 🙂

That stripey, cooling neck bandanna that’s half-on and half-off? I didn’t need it. But I made it specially the day before, just in case. I even half-charged it at one of the checkpoints, when it looked as if there might be some warmth in the sunshine. There wasn’t, or not much.

If you’ve recently managed a 35-Km walk or extreme activity of any sort – knitting, sewing, something physically challenging – well done. I’m going back to bed 🙂

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 22, 2016 in Health, Sewing

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “it wasn’t pretty but I did it

  1. jay

    August 22, 2016 at 20:39

    Well done! About 8 km counts as a bloody long walk for me, I’m impressed.

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      August 22, 2016 at 20:51

      Thanks, Jay. I think 8 Km is a bloody sturdy walk. This happens once a year and I promise myself I’ll never do it again 🙂

       
  2. accordion3

    August 23, 2016 at 19:50

    LEGEND!!!!!!!!!!

     
    • Felicity from Down Under

      October 3, 2016 at 22:21

      Thank you! (Also, sorry for apparently ignoring you; if I got a notification for this it didn’t catch my eye.)

       

Leave a Reply

 
