RSS

soaking up some sunshine

17 Sep

There’s much to be said for hardy garden plants. If they can survive even my ministrations, they’re winners 🙂

Today Dr B went on his weekly Sunday motorcycle jaunt up through the Hills and I visited Youngest Aunt. We had a lovely lunch out under her back verandah – making the most of the warmth and sunshine before the spring weather turns chilly again – and then raided her garden for all sorts of goodies. I came home with asparagus and a bunch of mixed herbs, as well as some freshly baked muffins of varying flavours and sizes (some sweet, some savoury).

My contribution to the day was some punnets of petunias for planting out, which I’d bought from a nursery en route We divided them equally, and I planted mine when I arrived home. Dr B was mowing the lawn. YoungB was studying. It wasn’t an energetic day for any of us, but it was enjoyable.

I am extremely pleased to report that transplanting the irises not only didn’t kill them – they are, in fact, looking strong and putting out lots of new growth – but also didn’t deter them from flowering, as I’d feared might be the case. There are some buds about to open.

I took my crochet with me to Youngest  Aunt’s, but we were so busy chatting and then admiring the garden that it didn’t get a look in. Never mind, there’s no deadline.

I hope your day has been equally sunny and undemanding.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 17, 2017 in gardening

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
