RSS

a little loopy

08 Mar
A little crochet project, done in strips while stripped

Baby crochet or knitting, that’s what. With another baby on the way in the family, do I make a little toy? A blanket? A lovey? Little bunny booties? Or panda booties? Maybe a hoodie? It’s hot enough now, but that won’t last forever. I have plenty – plenty! – of suitable yarn to choose from. There are patterns galore out there in the world, some with excellent instructions.

I keep yarn in packets, in sturdy zip-seal bags that might have once held a mattress protector or quilt, in plastic tubs, and even occasionally in packets in plastic tubs. Sometimes that’s useful because I can pick up a plastic tub and put it on top of a tall bookshelf (for example) to clear floor space or a bed. Other times it’s an extra layer of effort for which I can’t always muster the requisite energy. Thanks to its so frequently being the choice for amigurumi efforts, most of the cotton yarns are in one container.

Equipment for making pasta and subsequently looping it into little nests is generally Dr B’s domain. He’s been going nuts for a while, testing various new recipes from a northern-Italian website that he follows. All I can say is, it’s a good thing that we’ve done some recent reshuffling and the pasta machine is now much more readily accessible for him.

We’re making lists for this year’s projects. No, not me. I have a list of jobs – and I do mean things around the house that I’m tackling slowly – but I’m not buying into anything that involves electrical work or heavy lifting. Paving for a while? Yeah, I can probably do that. And, if I don’t do it for too long at any one time, my back might not complain too loudly. Keep the workers fed and watered? Definitely within my remit, and that’s a job I long ago sorted into smaller component parts that don’t require too much standing.

Returning to the idea of baby gifts for a little one in an unsettled family situation – moving house! – perhaps that simply needs to be soft and cuddly and portable, with some colour and texture interest. That I can do. Maybe no loops, however, as they can too easily become tangled in little fingers. But popcorn bobbles? They’re winners. No loops at all and nicely smooth on the side you don’t see.

Even if, it must be admitted, crocheting with pure wool in these temperatures is distinctly loopy! BWM baby yarn and BWM sock yarn held together, worked with 4.5mm hook; and worked in strips to keep me cool while I work.

I hope you’re managing to find a comfy spot no matter what your outside temperatures are doing.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a comment