RSS

Daily Archives: May 9, 2014

well, it’s like this

Another of our friends is undergoing chemo at present. This is not her first lot, but she lives interstate and we haven’t seen her for a while. We are hoping to visit her in a few weeks from now, so I thought I’d make something special for her. The only question is, will it be a cowl or a cap? And if a cowl, will it be sewn or knitted? I’m torn for good reason:

Humour me while I talk myself into trying this out for the first time!

I thought that I might sew a cowl. Well, you know – actually, you don’t because I haven’t mentioned it before! – I’ve just taken delivery of a new sewing machine like that one there, and I’m itching to give it a try. It arrived on Tuesday and all I’ve done so far is mostly get it out of the box. I know! But what with driving Dr B about the place after some minor surgery that prevented him from driving himself (recovery is proceeding well, thanks) and having a couple of things to do that didn’t involve being at home for serious chunks of the day, plus there’s this awful piece of work I’m trying to complete, there simply hasn’t been time! How sad is that??

Youngest Aunt gave me some fabric last year. Perhaps it was the year before. But anyway, I have some pieces of rayon (a couple of dresses that are worn in critical spots but too nice to throw out and from which I could easily harvest enough fabric to line a cowl) that I could combine with some fine polar fleece to make a deliciously soft and warm fabric cowl. Also, YoungB seems to have lost his original toob – somewhat to his distress; as I sometimes say, you can see why I keep feeding him! – and would be very happy if I were to make him another, please. The days are cold enough that he needs such a thing when he has an early lecture or is coming home in the dark after a long prac or lab session of some sort. At least he no longer has those ridiculously early starts associated with rowing training, but I’ll happily make him another toob. So, on the whole – and thanks for listening while I mulled that over – I think that this time I’ll sew a cowl.

However, as I bought some silky soft yarn yesterday, I might also knit a cap. Dr D lives in a jolly cold part of the country and her hair is just starting to experience what she wonderfully describes as fallout. Her head will definitely need covering. Therefore, the plan at the moment – I know, I’m not good with plans, but let’s just call this an idea of how I might go about achieving what I need – is to sew a toob for YoungB, a cowl for Dr D and then knit a cap. I’ll make the cap the negotiable factor, I think (life might prove busy with YoungB’s looming international travel to organise; and while I could sew a cowl and a toob quite quickly, it would take me considerably longer to knit a cap unless I went for my Inca beanie, but that would require different yarn that I simply don’t have).

Anyone want to put money on how quickly all of that goes off the rails? 🙂

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,